February Lovefest: I ♥ Your Blog Award

15 Feb

When I started blogging a little over two years ago, I found out that one of the nicest things you could do for anyone was to give them an award, a banner, or a badge of appreciation. In those days, awards were given out  so often that they became viral almost overnight. Lately, however, I’ve seen them go the way of tags and memes- rarely passed out for fear of unnecessarily bothering the recipient with spam. They’ve almost disappeared from sight, at least, in the blog circles I visit.

This criticism of “passing-along-something-in-blogs” and tagging nothwithstanding, with Valentine’s Day just passed, I wanted to give  my very own personalized versions of the I ♥ Your Blog award to my favorite blogs and to the friends I have made and reconnected with through blogging. I am deeply grateful to these wonderful people for making the experience of blogging something to look forward to every day.

~0~

Mushings was the very first blog I ever read on the Net, long before I jumped into blogging myself. Through it, I discovered a whole world of friendships that are no less real than the ones I have in real life. Leirs is a fabulous scrapper, aside from being a mom of two, an autism mom, and a devoted blogger.

To Leirs of Mushings

Megamom and I have known each other since high school. However, we knew little of each other except for superficial interactions and the occasional “hello’s” and “how are you’s.” I regret now that I never got to know her well then; we did not have the same circle of friends. Finding her blog, after all these years, I have discovered a whole different person- an accomplished professional (a doctor), a multitasking mom of triplets, a devoted member of our high school batch, Pisay Batch 1985- in short,  someone I would be proud to call a friend.  

To Aileen of Pinay Megamom

Teacher Julie was my son’s very first teacher in formal school. Alex loved her and her word was law, even in our home. I appreciate all that she has taught Alex but I will always remember most her as a friend who helped us cope in the first year of Alphonse’s diagnosis.      

To Teacher Julie

I’ve never met Ms. Susan Senator except through her book, “Making Peace with Autism,” which to date, is still the best and most realistic autism book I have ever read. I am a faithful follower of her blog and I am at awe at how she always finds the words I am sometimes unable to express. Ms. Senator is proof that there is life, love, and laughter in autism families.

To Ms. Susan Senator

No Special Effects is perhaps the only food blog I ever visit religiously. Not only is Doc Mark a genius in the kitchen, his food photographs are absolutely gorgeous. Beyond visuals, however, Doc Mark is also a gifted writer and one always finds a good story to read in  his blog. 

To Doc Mark of No Special Effects

When the doldrums settle in, I like to visit Little Miss Firefly for she can always bring sunshine to even the most dreary of days.  To you, Odette, I send you love from the warm summers of your homeland-

To Odette of Little Miss Firefly

Last, but certainly not the least, this is for J of My Sylvanian Collections. J and I have only been friends a short while but I always look forward to reading her Sylvanian adventures. Thank you being a great friend and a wonderful sister, shobe.  

To J of My Sylvanian Collections

And to all those who come and visit this blog, my thanks to all of you who share a part of their day with me. I send you love and blessings on this special month. Spread love, friends, and be blessed always! 

12 Responses to “February Lovefest: I ♥ Your Blog Award”

  1. leirs February 15, 2010 at 3:48 pm #

    Mare!!!thanks so much!!! super touched..*hugs*

    • Kittymama February 15, 2010 at 4:24 pm #

      Hugs to you too, Leirs! You may be “out of sight,” but you are never “out of mind.”

  2. julie February 15, 2010 at 4:35 pm #

    Awww, and I was just talking about you when we were looking at Sylvanian collections in Toys R us the other day.

    We should schedule that lunch SOON! when you are free 🙂

    Thanks so much and wishing you a wonderful and more blessed year of the tiger 🙂

    • Kittymama February 17, 2010 at 12:30 am #

      Thank you, T, Julie. 🙂

  3. ms firefly February 15, 2010 at 5:22 pm #

    awww, thank you kittymama!
    i am thrilled to be part of your circle of friendship! xo

    • Kittymama February 17, 2010 at 12:30 am #

      You’re welcome, Odette! 🙂 Hugs always!

  4. moodswings85 February 15, 2010 at 6:22 pm #

    Thank you atchi for adding my blog to your favorites! =)

    • Kittymama February 17, 2010 at 12:31 am #

      And thank you for being such a wonderful young friend. You make me feel young always. 🙂

  5. Manggy February 15, 2010 at 10:46 pm #

    No criticism/annoyance from this corner – just deep gratitude for always coming to visit. Thanks so much for the kind words. I hope I can entertain and inspire you for years to come 🙂

    • Kittymama February 17, 2010 at 12:32 am #

      I’ve no doubt you will, Mark. I wish you all the best always!

  6. Aileen February 18, 2010 at 1:35 am #

    Kittymama,

    My blog has been dormant for ages, but I’m so touched by your sincere appreciation not just of the blog but of the blogger. You have so succinctly captured my essence in one long multi-comma punctuated sentence. (paradox there)

    I know I’ve been delinquent and probably will be for a long time (lot’s going on in my physical world), but if there’s anything good that’s come out of my blogging, it’s that I got to know you better.

    I’m happy to be part of your journeys, even if only through your chronicles.

    Cyber-hugs! (When will these translate to real hugs – we better meet up soon, like we always talk about…)

    Megamom

    • Kittymama February 18, 2010 at 9:14 pm #

      I’m still waiting for you to resume writing, Megamom. I hope I can entice you to come back and tell us more stories from your life. Please?

Leave a Reply

