When You Say Nothing At All

28 Feb

In the car tonight, on the way home from picking up a new rice cooker*, I accidentally dropped my PSP and it slid right to the back of the front passenger seat.

Surprised, I blurted out  “Son, can you hand me my PSP?” before I realized that it was Alphonse, my son with severe autism, I was talking to. 

“Oh, well,” I thought to myself, “I’ll just get it when we get home.” I was already feeling a little cross at my carelessness. I was also worried that he might accidentally step on it.

A few seconds later, I felt a light tap on my right shoulder. Alphonse’s hand silently reached out to me from the back and handed me my PSP.

I flipped the mirrored visor to look at him. As our eyes met in the mirror, I thanked him for his unexpected kindness. He nodded his head and smiled at me.  

Always presume intelligence (even when it is not apparent). People with autism will surprise you, if you just give them a chance.

 ~0~

*Why do we need a new rice cooker? A masterfully executed roundhouse kick led to its untimely demise. This is our third rice cooker in as many months. Alphonse obviously hates them.

8 Responses to “When You Say Nothing At All”

  1. Nancy March 1, 2010 at 12:57 am #

    Aw hugs to Alphonse…very sweet boy 🙂

    • Kittymama March 2, 2010 at 11:28 am #

      Thanks for the hugs, Nancy. Will pass them to Alphonse. ♥

  2. julie March 1, 2010 at 6:52 am #

    Awww, this is wonderful 🙂

    • Kittymama March 2, 2010 at 11:29 am #

      We all think so too, Teacher Julie. 🙂 And boy, was I suprised!

  3. Stella March 1, 2010 at 8:15 am #

    Oh wow.. what a beautiful moment! Even I imagined and felt it! Great connection indeed! hugs Pinky! happy happy!

    • Kittymama March 2, 2010 at 11:30 am #

      Thank you, dear Stella. These little miracles are what keep us going through the hard days. Thank you for the hugs, too! 🙂

  4. Manggy March 4, 2010 at 6:32 pm #

    I’m so happy for you both! I hope this rice cooker will be a pacifying one 🙂

    • Kittymama March 4, 2010 at 9:35 pm #

      Thanks, Mark. We hope this rice cooker lasts longer than a month (but I’m not holding my breath, hehe!). 🙂

Leave a Reply

