News on the Sylvanian (Families) Front

11 Mar

One of the best things about having friends is that you get first dibs on any news related to your shared interest.  Take my Sylvanian Families friends J, Kit, and Harriet. These three are my lifelines in the local SF world, as I am, hopefully, to theirs. As soon as any of us gets news of arrivals in the city (via confirmed visual sightings or through local contacts in the SF sales world), the text brigade is activated instantaneously and a flurry of messages gets passed among ourselves. Often, they take it a step further by posting pictures and prices, as Kit did here, and as J (aka moodswings) did here.

Last week was a particulary busy week as far as SF fans were concerned. We could not believe the sudden downpour of arrivals in toy shops all over the city. We had been praying fervently for new items and when they finally came, we were all beside ourselves with joy and excitement, and yes, even the accompanying frustration of not having bottomless pockets. With Kit’s and J’s guides, however, we were able to make our individual lists for our budgets and will hopefully be able to stick to them without getting ourselves into debt. (Crossing my fingers!)

I do have some new items which I have not posted yet. Early last month, I received a package from London’s Sylvanian Shop courtesy of my friend Tanja. I was so pleased to receive the Delightful Doughnut Set and a Home Interior Lights Set.  I will add them to the courtyard restaurant, a sweet addition to the various fares offered by the Chocolate Rabbit Family. Thank you so much, dear Tanja, for this lovely gift!

Later in the month, another package came in the mail, this time a late anniversary gift (another anniversary!!!) from my husband. It was the cake shop I’ve been watching at eBay but which A got much, much cheaper from another site. He also threw in the cake display stand for good measure.

I am most happy with these gifts because the Keats, my favorite Sylvanian family, are bakers. (See their family description below.) My husband got me the baker and patisserie maid outfits last Christmas, and together, they complete the set. Happy, happy!!!

Father, Rossetti Longfellow Keats, his delicate puff pastry is a special treat. The Pastry Chef extraordinaire, he fills the kitchen with panache and flair. They say he’s a poet with flour and yeast, because those chocolate dainties are a feast. Mother, Bronte Keats runs the Patisserie like clockwork, hard graft she’s never known to shirk! Efficient she is in every way, she even has time to chat and play. To all her customers she is a friend, to all their whims she does attend.

Brother, T S Eliot Keats, a name no one beats. The longest name of all, a real mouthful to recall. So Bronte has shortened it a lot, from Tennyson Swift to TS Eliot. Sister, Shelley Keats, the apple of her father’s eye, works with him and makes him sigh. Her artistic flair with just plain dough, can turn a cake into a rich Gateau, and a plum-duffing into a princely plum pudding.

Cake shop with the costumes

I did break my Kittybank to buy some items just to get the new Sylvanian Families calendar over at Toytown Eastwood. Okay, okay, unscrew is more like it, as my Kittybank is actually a candy jar, heehee. At the time of my purchase, there weren’t new items available yet so I settled for doubles of items I already had. I wish I waited a little, though; I would have still made it in time for the new arrivals. *Toinks.* Another lesson learned.

Sylvanian Families Calendar available only at Toytown Eastwood

Still, you’d think that with all the toys I still haven’t opened, I would no longer be drooling over new arrivals. And as much as I want to say that I am a model for a smart shopper, the truth is, when it comes to SFs, I am most definitely not. This time, however, I think I did my husband proud by not succumbing to temptation easily. (Also, I think he rather enjoyed not being nagged to come with me to the toy store.) 

How did I comfort myself in this period of self-restraint, you ask? Well,  I made a picture list, printed it out, and used it to calm myself down when my addicted nerves craved for more. Looking at pictures helped a lot; I simply relied on my imagination to do the rest. 🙂

Besides, behaving has its rewards, as I soon found out. Not long after, A got me some of the items in my list. Not all, he said, because the most expensive items would have to wait for a sale, but the ones he could afford to buy, he got them for me. More happy, happy!

Racoon Family, Dormouse twins, Buttermilk Rabbit twins

Stefania plays piano, Mama Diana and ref, Father Aaron and Marco and the vegetable garden

Wedding car, high chair (one of two kinds)

I’m trying to squeeze in time during the day to play with all my toys. It’s my biggest indulgence- to find some quiet time for me- away from the boys and all the chores- and spend an hour or two with my Sylvanians. It’s not everyday I get this time, but when I do, it is a real gift.

Still, while having my ME time is a real joy, I realize that in my life, this is made possible only by friendship, sacrifice, and love. To Tanja, J, Kit, and Harriet, my deepest thanks for your friendship. And to A, who after 28 years is still my bestest friend in the whole wide world, what can I say except “I love you”?

8 Responses to “News on the Sylvanian (Families) Front”

  1. AC March 11, 2010 at 2:19 pm #

    I still owe you a Sylvanian Families baby. 🙂

    • Kittymama March 11, 2010 at 2:33 pm #

      Yes, you do, and I will be collecting…soon. 🙂

      • NinJas! March 11, 2010 at 3:30 pm #

        nyarks … more rodent babies????

  2. moodswings March 11, 2010 at 6:04 pm #

    Atchi! WAW! I’m speechless… The Cake shop with costume set looks really good! And you have the donut shop na? Cool!!! Thank you din atchi! I’m really happy with your new SF purchase!

    • Kittymama March 13, 2010 at 6:11 am #

      Thanks, shobe!

  3. iceklicky March 27, 2010 at 11:21 am #

    It’s good to hear that you have three local SF world lifeline!! 😀

  4. yen October 7, 2010 at 1:48 am #

    HiKittymama,
    I’m also a collector of Sylvanian families. My favourite is also the cake shop and bakery as I love baking. I’ve been eyeing at the same cake shop your husband bought for you, it’s so ex at ebay. Would you let me know where you got this, I love to get it too. Thank you.
    Yen

    • Kittymama October 7, 2010 at 11:31 am #

      Hi, Yen! My husband got it from all99.com which is a Malaysian site that sells Sylvanian Families and other toys. Pearly, their customer sevice point person, is very helpful and nice, so you can send her an email on their site to inquire if they still have it. Last time i checked, it was still out of stock but there’s no harm in asking.

      It’s so nice to meet a fellow collector. Thank you for dropping by to say hello. Feel free to drop me a line any time. I would love to see your collection too!

Leave a Reply

