Crocs Hungry

22 Mar

We were up by six Sunday morning. I’d only taken in three hours of sleep the night before as Alphonse kept us up all night with his merry prancing. Well, he was happy, and we couldn’t fault him for not being sleepy. Arrggghh…teenagers!  Even with so little sleep, A and I had a promise to keep. We promised the boys we’d get them Crocs. 

Crocs had a four-day sale last week (technically five, including Wednesday, which was exclusive to Citibank card members), starting Thursday morning. It was such a HUGE sale (some items up to 90% off) that people came in by the thousands. The lines were so long and so convoluted — up to five loops around the place! — that the very first day (Wednesday) people waited hours in the sun just to get in. A and I could not go on any of the first four days. He had work and meetings, and I was feeling under the weather. By Saturday, however, I was feeling much better and thought I could brave the sale lines without feeling faint or nauseated. I prevailed upon A to go with me to the sale, but I had to do it his way, which meant getting there really early to fall in line.

And it was a great idea too. By 6:45 am, there was already a line of around thirty people waiting by the still closed gate of the sale venue. A and I fell in line with them for more than an hour before we were finally let inside the gates. By then, the crowd had swollen to more than a hundred. We were given seats, thankfully, in makeshift tents in front of the sale site. The shade was just enough to keep us from frying under the morning sun, but the heat coming from the concrete floor was almost unbearable. We waited for another two hours, fanning ourselves furiously, before the doors were finally opened. By then, the crowd was no longer just a small manageable group of people; it had become a massive horde.

I interrupt this post for a short, but true, story: 

A and I still laugh about this!

Anyway, back to the story: Inside, it was a complete bedlam. There were so many people that it was difficult to stay in one place long enough to sort through unpaired shoes. Many elbowed their way to get choice spots in front of their bins of choice, rummaging like crazy, tossing shoes everywhere. Some brought their kids along, shoving them with the rest of the crowd. The sales personnel were helpful but were so few compared to the crowd. And to think, Sunday was supposed to be their least attended day; I can’t imagine what it was like the other days. *shudders*

For all our troubles, A and I picked up great finds for all the boys — extra lightweight rubber shoes for Alex and Alphonse and  a pair of sandals for Alex. I also got two pairs of Caymans for my two-year old nephew, a request from my sister. There were even some for me. I have sold or given away most of my other pairs of shoes and live on just my Crocs, so getting some nice pairs of women’s heels in the same comfortable molds was a real bonus.

I wish I worn anything other than my Crocs prepair clogs that day, but since I only have Crocs, I really didn’t have a choice on footwear. People wearing Crocs were required to have stickers put on their shoes. The few seconds delay in putting them on and having them checked meant more people ahead of me as some jumped their lines. Worse, the sticker was quite difficult to take off.

Was it really worth it? Was it worth the time, the trouble, the crowds? At the end of the day, I still think it was. I got my kids new shoes (good for the next year or two at least) for so much less than they normally go for. What’s more, they got to be Crocs, still my favorite shoes in the entire world. Tim Gunn and the rest of the fashionista world may hate me for my unconventional shoe sense, but I’d still go for Crocs over Blahniks and Choos any day.

7 Responses to “Crocs Hungry”

  1. cynch March 22, 2010 at 4:15 pm #

    bwahahahaha….sooooo funny that short story interruption…bwahahahaha….bwahahahaha lmao =))

    • Kittymama March 22, 2010 at 11:50 pm #

      I knew you’d like that, Cynch. 🙂 A and I almost threw our backs laughing about it on the way home. Mr. Senior Citizen and Mrs. Preggers– that’s us!

  2. arleen March 22, 2010 at 11:37 pm #

    good for you..i assume you were able to buy a pair of those high heeled shoes,crocs Lena? I was there on the last day, i got a few pairs for my kids.there were no available sizes for me,except for that Lena,which I didn’t like that much, i prefer flats..=)

    • Kittymama March 22, 2010 at 11:58 pm #

      Oh, there were some Sassaris and Havanas too, in my size, at least. I got my Sassari two years ago at regular price and it’s still perfectly fine. Personally, I like flats too, and my Prepair is the comfiest, even comfier than the HK Caymans o the new Crocband. But my 17 year-old son reminds me to dress up every now and then… so I do need the heels, hopefully, not very often.

  3. Just A Friend March 22, 2010 at 11:47 pm #

    I wasn’t able to go to the sale. I heard the traffic was horrible around the place. But it sounds like there were great items to be had.

    Btw, I loved the story about you and Mr. A. 🙂

    • Kittymama March 23, 2010 at 12:09 am #

      Thank you! Yes, traffic was really bad so Sunday morning was probably the best time to go. The prices for some items were really low, so all in all, it was a good sale.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. When People and Plastic Mix*: The Crocs Mega Sale Event « Okasaneko Chronicles - June 15, 2011

    […] been to last year’s sale too and even blogged about it here so I knew what to expect and had steeled myself against the crowds, the jostling, even the heat. […]

Leave a Reply

