Comfort

26 Mar

Then...

I woke up this morning to find Alphonse missing from bed. It’s so unlike me to sleep through Alphonse’s movements so I mentally cussed at myself for not waking up in time. Blinking a few times in the soft light of the bedroom, I took a few seconds to adjust to the light. I had forgotten to take off my contact lenses last night so they were stuck to my eyeballs and blurry from almost drying up. I jumped out of bed, my heart in my throat, ready to run and look for Alphonse. A few seconds later, I did find him, safely ensconced in layers of beddings and linens. Apparently, Alphonse had suddenly awakened, decided to use the bathroom, and then went promptly back to sleep. In his Kuya’s (big brother’s) bed.

When the kids were smaller, this was hardly a rare sight. Alphonse sought Alex’s warmth in the early mornings, and little kids that they were, they would sleep entwined, arms around each other, clinging to each other till light.

And Now- taken just this morning

Now, they are both teenagers. Alex, at 17 and a year short of college, has began to carve his own space in this world. He has an identity separate from us. He comes home brimming with stories of his friends, of the people he has met, and of the places he has been. In the last year, particularly, we have seen him grow so fast that he is already light years ahead of his younger, disabled brother.

And yet, whatever else has changed in Alex’s life, one thing remains the same. He is and will always be Alphonse’s early morning comfort.

14 Responses to “Comfort”

  1. Nancy March 26, 2010 at 10:50 am #

    my heart bleeds with so much love and happiness…they are too sweet.

    • Kittymama March 27, 2010 at 2:01 pm #

      Thanks, mare. These boys still make my heart skip a beat when I see them that way.

  2. Stella March 26, 2010 at 12:42 pm #

    awwwwwwwwwwwwwwww! love that!

    • Kittymama March 27, 2010 at 2:01 pm #

      Thanks, Stella! 🙂

  3. julie March 26, 2010 at 1:03 pm #

    Awww, ang sweet 🙂

    • Kittymama March 27, 2010 at 2:02 pm #

      🙂

  4. geri March 26, 2010 at 1:29 pm #

    The photo got me teary-eyed. You got a sweet boy there in Alex. I can’t imagine my brothers being tender to us siblings at that age (they are more caring now that they have become fathers), esp at 17 when they’re supposed to act macho na =)

    • Kittymama March 27, 2010 at 2:07 pm #

      Thank you, Geri. True, it is rather unusual to see them that sweet, at their age. And that’s why this makes me especially proud of Kuya, who despite his confident and self-assured manner in the world, is unafraid to express his love for his brother. 🙂

  5. Manggy March 26, 2010 at 4:56 pm #

    Teary-eyed here, too. You have two blessings as sons. Just beautiful.

    • Kittymama March 27, 2010 at 2:09 pm #

      Thanks, Mark, They can be a handful (both of them) but yes, they are really blessings. 🙂

  6. cynch March 28, 2010 at 2:15 am #

    i’m at a loss for words…i found myself staring w/ awe for a couple of minutes at the pic when they were small , and then again at their recent pic ….supah sweet grrrabehhhh…love between the 2 is really evident… more so since the act was done unconsciously :).

    • Kittymama March 28, 2010 at 9:25 pm #

      Thank you, Cynch. I pray and I hope that Alex remains this loving to his brother even when A and I are gone. 🙂

  7. Daddy Forever March 30, 2010 at 2:12 pm #

    Cute photo and story. I wish my kids would snuggle with each other. In the morning, I have to go from one bedroom to the next because the kids don’t want to sleep in their room alone.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Two blogs, the Blue Eagle & an orange moon - April 2, 2010

    […] But I saw something else altogether. I saw a pious woman devoted to her family, particularly to her autistic son. I was reminded of the very first article of hers that I ever […]

Leave a Reply

