Faith

31 Mar

Faith is a knowledge within the heart, beyond the reach of proof.” ~ Kahlil Gibran

In August of 2008, my husband, son Alex, and I watched a concert. As is our tradition, I kept the tickets as souvenirs of the night. I left them on my bedside table and kept a mental note to remember to store them in the family memory box. A few days later, however, I noticed the tickets were damp; one was completely wet. I had inadvertently left a glass of water unattended. The condensation had dripped off the chilled glass and onto the things I had on the table. Not wanting to throw the tickets out, I left them face up to dry.

The next day, I found this.

What do you see?

I got goose pimples when I first saw this. I am not a superstitious person and somewhere in the back of my rational mind, I believe that the figure I see in this scrap of paper was created by nothing more than happenstance or coincidence. And yet, my heart believes otherwise.

What do I see, you ask? I see a man, with his head slightly bowed, his arms stretched upwards.  In my heart, I believe the man to be Jesus, as He was on the cross.

I will not try to convince anyone else of what I see or what I believe. I show this only as a reminder that even in this most ordinary world, some things still cannot be explained except by faith.

To the Man who died on the cross for us, may we always be worthy of Your sacrifice, Lord.

Have a blessed Holy Week, everyone, and see you next week!

7 Responses to “Faith”

  1. AC March 31, 2010 at 3:09 pm #

    It’s quite bone-chilling if you ask me @-) When I saw it, it was like… Brrr. @-) :))

    • Kittymama April 4, 2010 at 12:14 am #

      Brrr… I had the same reaction. 🙂 Thank you, AC.

  2. Casdok March 31, 2010 at 5:36 pm #

    Wow, a very good reminder.

    • Kittymama April 4, 2010 at 12:15 am #

      Thanks, Casdok. I hope you and C are doing well. 🙂

  3. Manggy April 3, 2010 at 9:31 pm #

    I don’t know if I should be upset that I didn’t see it until you told us 😦 In any case, it’s nice to see reminders of His glory even in little things. Happy Easter!

    • Kittymama April 4, 2010 at 12:21 am #

      The ticket’s a little faded now (it’s thermal paper) and the figure’s not quite as clear the first time I saw it, so don’t be upset. 🙂 I guess not everyone will see it the way I do and it’s just fine. But compare it to the stained glass figure on the left to see how the arms, albeit not completely depicted, are angled, and the head seems to look a little down and to the left, and the picture will come alive for you. Indeed, it’s just a reminder that God is everywhere, even in the little things.

      Happy Easter and blessings always!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Two blogs, the Blue Eagle & an orange moon - April 2, 2010

    […] friend’s blog also got me thinking about God the other day. She shared a strange experience she had with a couple of concert tickets that accidentally got wet and seemed to display the image […]

Leave a Reply

