Cheeseburger Meditation

20 Apr

I was at a fastfood outlet yesterday afternoon, quite desperate for a fix of a  double cheeseburger. 

Two all beef patties, cheese, onion, pickles, mustard, ketchup in a soft bun, please.  No, I don’t need french fries with that. And I’ll have a Coke zero, upsized, if you please.” I was already imagining the conversation.    

It was one of those rare days of palate fatigue. Nothing I cooked at home tasted right to me  even as everyone else thought it was great. There were still some leftovers from the previous day in the refrigerator and I hate cooking when I know there’s uneaten food that may go to waste. I was a little crabby. I was also a bit tired from the heat. Maybe I just needed a break from my own cooking. Whatever the reason was, I needed that cheeseburger… badly.

I got my wish late afternoon. With the coveted burger in my hand, I quickly made my way to a table near the back. I sat down immediately, eager to sate my taste buds with all that fatty, gooey goodness.

Nom nom nom nom nom.

I was almost back to my old self towards the last few bites. I sat down quietly for a few moments, taking in deep breaths, as balance and peace were restored to my soul.

Every now and then, when the world gets to me and my palate, a double cheeseburger is all I need to make it right.

6 Responses to “Cheeseburger Meditation”

  1. Just A Friend April 20, 2010 at 3:41 pm #

    I feel for you. There are days when nothing but a cheeseburger will do.

    • Kittymama April 21, 2010 at 12:07 pm #

      I know… I think I want another one today. 🙂

  2. NinJas! April 20, 2010 at 4:36 pm #

    I’m confused … did you have a double-double-cheese-cheese-burger-burger-please-please or a (no-longer)big-mac?

    p.s. if you want a BURGER and you’re in the makati or fort area, i suggest burger avenue burgers (wasabi mayo is my faaaavourite!

    • Kittymama April 21, 2010 at 12:12 pm #

      It’s a double-double-cheese-cheese-burger-burger-please-please, and not a Big Mac. Bic Macs have lettuce and special sauce on sesame seed buns, remember?
      (♪ ♪Two all beef patties, special sauce, lettuce, cheese, pickles, onions on a sesame seed bun… ♫)

      I haven’t tried Burger Avenue burgers but one of these days, they better get ready for me!

  3. Manggy April 20, 2010 at 5:41 pm #

    Strangely enough (and believe it or not– ang kapal ko, haha), I feel the same way too some days. It doesn’t even have to be particularly expensive. Just easy and gooood. Tropical, Jollibee (although Chickenjoy is my drug of choice here), McDonald’s, Wendy’s, it doesn’t matter.

    • Kittymama April 21, 2010 at 12:18 pm #

      Really, there are just days when I can’t stand my own cooking and burgers hit the spot each time. You know what they say about cooks hating their own cooking? Well, I’m quite the opposite- I eat everything I cook. So when palate fatigue sets in, I know that I need the time to recharge my taste buds.

      I’m not too keen on other burgers; I am partial to the clown with the red nose. The insect’s burgers smell a bit funny to me. Which reminds me of this:

      Setting: Movie theater, during intermission (lights on, trailers being shown)
      Characters: Mom, Dad, Alex (age 6)

      Somebody unwraps a burger and the scent of it wafts through the air. Alex jumps from his seat and loudly exclaims: “Mom, did you fart?”
      Mom slithers down the seat as heads turn to look at her.
      Oh. The. Shame.

Leave a Reply

