35 And Rising

26 Apr

In the past week, temperatures have consistently hit the mid-nineties (34-35º Celsius). Weather forecasters say that they expect temperatures to rise to the low hundreds (40-41º Celsius) in May. I don’t know how long we can last this scorching heat.  😦

Most days, the kids and I hunker down in the bedroom with shades down, lights off, electric fans in full blast, and iced water in our bottles. We turn the airconditioning off early morning while the temperature is still bearable to save on electricity (you would not believe how astronomical our electric bill was this past month!). We turn it back on for an hour at around noon, though. When the sun is at full strength, we melt in the heat if the airconditioner’s off.  

I don’t remember it being this bad last summer, or even the summer before that. This is one long hot, dry spell. It has not rained in months and everything is drying up. We have little water these days and we get them for a few hours and only in the early morning. Even then, the water that comes out of our faucets is hot. I have to make blocks of ice in the freezer to cool down our bathing water.

I hope this doesn’t last any longer. We are parched and dry and tired and sleep deprived. I can’t wait for the rains to come.

8 Responses to “35 And Rising”

  1. P-Angel April 27, 2010 at 5:58 am #

    *Big squishy hug*

    I can’t stand hot weather, I much more prefer it when it’s cold and crisp outside.

    Your post has reminded me of when I was in China a couple of years ago it was so muggy – the air was so warm to breathe, it felt like I was in a sauna. I’ve never experienced anything like it.

    I shared a room with a girl called Harshi and she refused to have the air-conditioning on because it was a ‘waste of electricity’. We did not get on well 😄

    • Kittymama April 28, 2010 at 1:04 pm #

      Thanks for the hug. I needed that. 🙂

      We hit 97ºF yesterday (99ºF today- aaarrrggghhhh!) and if I weren’t dry and dehydrated already, I’d have bawled my eyes out from the heat. Even for people accustomed to tropical weather, this is torture!

      Airconditioning is a big, big help in hot, crazy weather like this, and it’s essential especially at the height of the midday sun. Poor you, having someone like that for a roommate. Maybe she was cold-blooded, hee-hee.

  2. Manggy April 28, 2010 at 12:05 am #

    Grabe no? I don’t think it has ever been this bad before!!

    • Kittymama April 28, 2010 at 1:08 pm #

      I know (humidity sucks too!) and I can only pray it gets better soon. I heard the rains have come to the Visayas so maybe we’re not so far behind.

      When are you leaving for residency? You might catch two summer seasons if you get there by June. Hope the East Coast has a mild summer this year. 🙂

  3. Mandi April 28, 2010 at 12:04 pm #

    The Wizard of Oz comic cracked me up! Sorry about the miserable heat. Hope the temps drop soon!

    Mandi

    • Kittymama April 28, 2010 at 1:10 pm #

      Thanks, Mandi! The cartoon was the only thing that made me smile in this post. 🙂

  4. Daddy Forever May 4, 2010 at 2:39 pm #

    We must have all your rain. It’s been raining here more than normal and we’ve been stuck in the 50’s this spring.

    • Kittymama May 4, 2010 at 11:57 pm #

      Can you send some rain clouds our way? We’ve had a few drizzles but nothing that really merits as rain. 😦 Pit weather men say summer’s still here…

Leave a Reply

