Spanx Me

7 May

I’m a sucker for underwear- underpants, brassieres, control undergarments; you name them, I absolutely love them. Problem is, it’s difficult to find one that fits an ample plus-sized woman perfectly. Most brassieres have skinny straps that cut circulation; a lot of them have pitiful support panels that do little to prevent your breasts from spilling over the sides of the cup or hide enough back fat from showing. Even expensive control panties prove useless against multi-layered flab. Oh, the woes of the plus-sized woman.

As such, in the last few years (and in the years I’ve been off my perpetual diet), shapers have been my best friend. I have them in every style and color and shape and control level, too. I have light shapesuits for everyday, regular hold-the-gut wear. I have abdominal girdles that hold and keep you in so tightly that sitting down or bending over qualifies as aerobic exercise. And I have supercontrol midthigh slimsuits that are guaranteed not only to suck the breath out of you but lift your breasts to chin level as well. (Well, now you know why I have three chins, haha. )

The ones that support, control, and contain hurt like hell. The ones that don’t hurt don’t do anything at all. Even then, despite these obviously flawed techniques of trial and error,  I still buy them as I see them, hoping that one day soon, I just might find my match.

And I have. Finally.

So not my body (image from Spanx.com)

I wore my Spanx Slim Cognito seamless midthigh body suit for the first time today and I LOVED it! No question about it- this has got to be the comfiest slimsuit I’ve ever been in and also the most effective. I can actually see my lap when I sit down! Okay, I exaggerate, but the control is really amazing. I feel so all in, if you get what I mean. 

This is a great improvement from my previous slimsuits. This is smooth and sleek and feels like second skin. And yet it does an amazing job of holding in unsightly flab and folds. Even my back looks smooth and seamless. I am 100% sold.

I got my Spanx from Rustan’s Makati, after saving up for a few months. Spanx was offically launched in the country in December of last year but it took me a while to save up. Just the same, I was waiting for larger sizes of their best-selling Bra–llelujah to arrive, reportedly around April. Well, when I finally saved enough, I found out they still didn’t have it in my size. Ah, I can wait. Or at least, my pockets can stand holding some money for a while longer. 🙂

The cost of Spanx locally is significantly higher than when purchased from the United States. However, factoring in shipping and handling to the cost does diminish the difference. The convenience of having it on hand, with no waiting involved except for the time it takes to pay and wrap your purchase, is another come-on. Best of all,  the opportunity to try on the suit, as opposed to simply guessing what size fits you, is simply too good to pass up. At the very least, even if you don’t feel like shelling out the big bucks, you can still see and feel what it looks like first hand.   

It’s true,  then, that once you go Spanx, you never go back. Me? I am sold for life. Even if I have to save up for it, I’m never settling for second best again.

2 Responses to “Spanx Me”

  1. geri May 7, 2010 at 8:51 pm #

    Love my Spanx too =) Heard a lot of celebrities use it, even the skinny ones (may I roll my eyes) lol

    • Kittymama May 19, 2010 at 10:31 pm #

      I’ve never understood the logic of skinny women using control hosiery and shapers, but Spanx is made to replace underwear so maybe they use it to smoothen the silhouette. Still, I bet more Spanx would probably be sold if they use “real” women as models for their pictures. 🙂

Leave a Reply

