Catching Up

3 Jun

DT (short for desktop- DT’s my new nickname for it) is back but still seriously lacking in chops. I’ve gone back to using DT and taking Lappy (nickname for my laptop) out for really short spins (usually late at night when Havoc– my arch-enemy nickname for Alphonse when he is on destroyer mode- is fast asleep). So far, so good. Some of the programs have yet to be re-installed (maybe over the weekend when I have a little more time) but since I can already surf the net, write my articles, and blog hop, then the wait won’t seem such a bad time, after all.

Alphonse (left) and Alex (right)- how time flies!

Tomorrow, Friday, June 4, 2010, is officially my son’s first day of his last year in high school. My, time really flies fast. It really just seems like yesterday he was getting ready for preschool and now here we are, just a year before college. 🙂  

With first day classes looming over us, we  are all winding down from this long, hot summer. It’ll be hard getting back into the rhythm of the schoolyear; summer had us spoiled with late movie nights and play-athons over the Wii or the PlayStation that getting to bed early promises to be a huge chore. Even Alphonse, with his strictly regimented bedtimes, did not prove immune to summer’s siren call. There were many times during these last few months that he kept us up till two or three in the mornings. And as fun as it was for all of us to stay up till the wee hours of the morning, our bodies did pay for those late nights, eventually.  Boo. Aging can be no fun.   

This week, too, I turned a year older. We hadn’t planned for anything big this year- no hotels, no out-of-town jaunts, no party- and we were happy just to stay at home and celebrate with the boys. Perhaps, my only disappointment to the day was that A could not be around to celebrate it with us- a first, really, in all the 24 birthdays I have spent with him. Too bad my birthday fell on a workday with loads of important things  that could not be postponed for another day. We did have dinner for two and a movie later that night. 🙂 And yes, yes, yes, I love my presents! (Guess what?)

If there was a surprise to that day, however, it was that I was overwhelmed by the sheer volume of messages I received on my birthday, on facebook wall posts and private messages, on multiply private messages, and even through email. I hadn’t gone online till late that night and what I saw just about blew me away! Thank you to everyone who made me feel loved and important. What a great way to end a birthday!

I hope everyone has a great weekend, folks. Be safe and be blessed always!

5 Responses to “Catching Up”

  1. J.A. June 3, 2010 at 7:16 pm #

    Hi!
    Here’s a call for entries to TBR v.2 which I am hosting soon!
    http://jaaraf.blogspot.com/2010/06/all-i-needed-to-know-i-learned-in.html
    Hope you can send an entry!

  2. leira pagaspas June 4, 2010 at 11:01 am #

    hi mare!!!i’m glad that you had a happy birthday..kami din patapos na ang summer.Joshwa is going back to school on the 15th.

    • Kittymama June 10, 2010 at 1:36 pm #

      Thanks, Mare! 🙂

  3. P-Angel June 7, 2010 at 11:03 pm #

    By the way, hope you had a spiffing birthday ^_____^

    • Kittymama June 10, 2010 at 1:36 pm #

      I did, P-Angel! And it’s not over yet…

Leave a Reply

