Growing Old With Grace

7 Jun

It finally happened this year, the thing I dreaded the most: AGING.

I’m not afraid to grow old, don’t get me wrong. I like my age and though I sometimes miss the carefree days of my youth, all in all, I like being who I am and what I am at any particular age. I don’t have hang-ups about revealing my age (if you must know, I am 43) if only because I am always grateful for each day that comes. I’ve known quite a few friends who didn’t quite make it this far (God bless their souls) and I’ve often wondered and thought of with regret the million possibilities they did not get the chance to explore.

Ahh, but I digress. You know what really, really gets me about growing old? It’s that for the first time since breaching the 4-0 mark, I’m actually noticing changes in my body. Take my eyes, for example. My eyes have always been myopic but these days, I can’t focus on anything up close unless I take off my lenses. I have difficulty transitioning from viewing distances (from near to far and vise-versa) and my eyes tear up from playing video games after a while. Aarrrgh! I hate being nearsighted and farsighted at the same time!

Then too, just this year, my feet, knees, and back started hurting more. I know what more than six months of inactivity can do to the body. Since I got injured last year, I haven’t been able to engage in physical exercise and my joints are paying for it. My neck has its good and bad days but I manage to live with the pain and inconvenience. Now that the other parts are screaming “Help me!” in turn, I am more aware of how out of shape I have gotten in the last year.

I’ve also noticed that my hair, once smooth and straight, have now turned curly and in some parts, frizzy. Yikes! I can’t manage to keep it straight without burning it with the straightening iron or the blow dryer. As such, if I don”t pull my hair up in a ponytail, I roll my hair in curlers. If I can’t beat them (into submission), then I think I ought to just join them in their curling frenzy.   

And then, there are the wrinkles. Gosh, don’t get me started on them. I see them everywhere! My husband disagrees with me on this. He keeps saying I am imagining things but I see them. I tell you, they’re there. (They are!)

And these are what are what I hate about growing old. The good news is, as far as my innards are concerned, they’re still working pretty decently. (Knock on wood.) For a fat lady, I’m not too unhealthy, if I may say so myself.

Still,  I am not about to tempt fate and continue being victim to my aching knees and back. Why, just this morning, I finally decided I have had enough. I put on my sweats, tucked a squirt bottle of sunblock in my pocket, hauled an icy water bottle, and walked my a** off. The spandex in my sweats was a little brittle; you could tell by the stiff resistance when I tried to stretch it. My shoes were also a little tight and taut after close to a year of disuse, but loosening the laces seemed to do the trick.

And so today, I started walking again. I tried to run in spurts but my neck complained from the jarring movements. I seem to bounce more when I run (I can’t help it, I’m round, heehee) and that hurts my neck and upper back more. Of course, I probably walked liked a hobbled zombie most of the time (three groups of senior citizens actually outwalked me, the shame, the shame!) but still, after close to a year of inactivity, I’m rather proud of myself, really.

I know growing old is inevitable but if I can help it, I’d like to grow old with grace and style. A little pizzazz every now and then can’t be too bad either.

6 Responses to “Growing Old With Grace”

  1. Just A Friend June 7, 2010 at 10:55 pm #

    Way to go, Kittymama! Good move! 🙂

    • Kittymama June 10, 2010 at 1:25 pm #

      Thank you for your encouragement, friend! 🙂

  2. geri June 7, 2010 at 10:58 pm #

    The first time I noticed I was getting old was last year, during a dance exercise I used to think I was a good dancer but when I looked at the mirror my movements reminded me how my mom’s friends looked like dancing when I was smaller, you know, that awkward jerk from time to time hahaha

    Activity does help make ones body function and feel better. When I tell Evan that we’re going to the gym, he would protest (even if he loves it there) I would explain that I have to go or else mom would feel lousy the whole day =)

    • Kittymama June 10, 2010 at 1:34 pm #

      Thanks for dropping by again, Geri!

      I agree, exercise and movement make one less sluggish. Having been housebound for close to a year, I often wake up feeling tired and lousy and aching. I hope to feel better soon, when the effects of walking start kicking in. I don’t know if I’d want to get back to dance class after your story, hehe. (I used to do mom’s ballet.)

  3. P-Angel June 7, 2010 at 11:02 pm #

    “Aarrrgh! I hate being nearsighted and farsighted at the same time!”

    Me too! But I keep forgetting to wear my glasses ^.^;

    By the way, I received a message from you on the forums, and haven’t yet had chance to check it, but I shall!

    • Kittymama June 10, 2010 at 1:35 pm #

      Thanks, P-Angel! I’ll wait for your reply soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

