Kitty Still Rules!

17 Jun

Who says Hello Kitty is dying?

Someone at the New York Times (see “In Search of Adorable, as Hello Kitty Starts to Fade,” 14 may 2010) must have gotten it wrong as fans don’t see Hello Kitty fading out from mass consciousness any time soon. How can she be “running out of lives” when the most kawaii Hello Kitty things still come up and hit it big in the markets?

Still not convinced? How about the newest Hello Kitty shoe collaborations as proof? I need only three letters to describe them, friends.

     O M G!   

      * faints*

For Dr. Martens’ 50th anniversary (Sanrio’s, too), their highly stylized boots and Mary Janes serve up massive doses of cuteness with tradition. The classic 1460 eight-eye boot is vamped with bright color tandems and the trademark HK ribbon. Mary Jane models follow the color composition of these pairs. A third boot model features what I call the “manga” look, with illustrations all over the shoe, and will retails at USD165, the most expensive of all models. (Other boot models at USD135 and Mary Janes at USD120.)

I’m not much of a boot person, though, once upon a time, back when my ankles were much, much thinner, I did traipse around the city in thick working men’s Doc Martens too. Back then, DMs were statement shoes, and anybody who wanted to be cool (even in this beastly hot city) owned at least a pair. They were heavy, but comfy. And yes, if you needed to stomp on the foot of a rogue boyfriend, these were your best bets for making your mark.  Now that I am much older, my ankles much thicker, and I have no pressing need to stomp on the foot of an erring spouse (I got lucky- I married an angel!), I prefer the more sedate Mary Janes. Kitty inspired, of course.

The Doc Martens x Hello Kitty footwear will be available in September. Whether they make it to the country is another matter altogether. Oh, well, there’s always Sanrio.com.

Now, when it comes to more casual wear, how about Pony’s contribution to the Kitty world, the Pony x Hello Kitty limited edition sneakers?  (Not My Little Pony, silly!) They come in a variety of styles, in two high and four low top designs. Pale pink, silver and white are the predominant color palettes for four of the designs while black, white and red mark the other two with a dash of cutesy boldness. These sneakers speak the language of Kitty coolness yet reveal the sensitive side to your hiphopping soul.  At PhP3295 for the low tops and PhP3495 for the high tops, they’re not so expensive and cost less than a pair of Skechers shape-ups.

I have to admit that I am still deciding on this one. I loved sneakers while growing up; they were, in fact my staple shoes for many years, even in med school. But Crocs have got me spoiled with no laces to tie and no eyes to thread. The slip-on comfort of my Hello Kitty Crocs and my non-HK Prepair beats the rigor of adjusting laces for swollen feet or ingrown toenails (eeewww). I guess that’s why I love Mary Janes over the boots, too; no fuss slip-on is more my style. Now, were Pony to come up with  a style that features, uhm, lemme see…ehrm,velcro, you’ll find me beating down mall doors just to be the first to get one. As it is, I’m waiting till the weekend to decide.

At 36, we all know that Hello Kitty is not destined to be top cat forever. Newer, brighter, younger things may eventually outshine her. I sincerely doubt, however, that she will go the way of the dinosaur. For as long as interesting things come up, I think you’ll find her aging spirit there. Yes, she may be a little long in the tooth, but who cares? She’s got no mouth to show it anyway.

~0~

P.S. Special thanks to Saralyn and Steven (and my favorite Skyler) for telling their mom to introduce me to “Hello Pitbull.” 🙂

5 Responses to “Kitty Still Rules!”

  1. Just A Friend June 17, 2010 at 4:31 pm #

    I saw the Pony shoes this week and I may be wrong, but they don’t look very comfortable. Have you tried them on?

    • Kittymama June 17, 2010 at 4:42 pm #

      I’m not really sure if they are; I haven’t tried them out either. In my opinion, sneakers that are made of breathable materials are comfier but maybe it’s just a preference of mine. You ought to try it out before you make up your mind.

  2. moodswings June 17, 2010 at 4:59 pm #

    Hello atchie!
    True, true, Hello Kitty rules!
    I love HelloKitty X Tokidoki versions..

    BTW, Here’s the iphone case I was talking about…
    http://www.missomnimedia.com/2009/09/m-i-s-s-techcessories-power-support-hello-kitty-iphone-cases/

  3. yen corong March 5, 2013 at 11:46 am #

    where to buy that kitty shoes from dm’s?

    • Kittymama March 5, 2013 at 12:14 pm #

      They never made it to the country and they are no longer for sale at the official DM site. Sadly, your only choice would be eBay today, since this was a 2010 release.

Leave a Reply

