The Name Game

17 Aug

Three more days before the Sanrio Friends Build-A-Bear dolls become available and already, I am thinking of names for my new friends.

Naming BABs is a very personal rite, as my experience at the Build-A-Bear store has taught me. It may seem silly to many that the act of choosing, stuffing, grooming, dressing, and naming is an honored ritual among BAB lovers, but it teaches people, children, in particular, that value is a subjective experience and that even seemingly inexpensive things become objects of value with love.

As such, all my BABs have names that are theirs alone. Take the case of the white Hello Kitty BABs. The original 2008 Hello Kitty, which was actually my second doll, retained her original name in my home, Kitty White. I didn’t think then that they would make different versions of her, thus, the seeming shortsightedness on my part.  My second white Hello Kitty was christened Kitty Corazon, or Cory for short. The heart in her bow decided it for me, and I chose to name her in Spanish because she says “Te quiero” when you hold her hand. Last of the white kitties (for now), the 35th Anniversary Hello Kitty is called Kitty Christmas, or Chrissy, because she was a Christmas gift last year.

Chrissy

Cory

Kitty White

My Tropical Hello Kitty dolls (and I have two of them), on the other hand are Kitty Browns or Beeone and Beetwo. And because I got a third one only recently, she is the youngest of the Bees or Beethree.

And now while I wait for the rest of the gang to make their way to my home, I’ve been thinking of appropriate names for them already. KeroKeroppi was easy. I will rename him KeroKero-Pnoy, in honor of the new president. (Told you I wanted a Noy.) And even Chococat’s new name isn’t a stretch from what he looks like. His new name will be Jejocat, after PNoy’s vice-president. I was all set to name him Jojocat until a dear friend reminded me of the vice-president’s real name. And I thought she was referring to Jejemons, jejeje. 🙂 Oh well, with the new name, Chococat gets his own inventive tag line, too: “Jejemon na, JojoB pa.”

KeroKero-PNoy

Jejocat

Still, my brain is taking a beating with My Melody. A recommends to keep it simple with the very unimaginative “My Melody.” But after exhausting my neurons with witty names for the Sanrio boys, how can I not do the same for the only other girl in the bunch? If you have any suggestions, friends, please tell me. I have a few more days left. So, help, please!  

Name that tune, ehrm, Melody!

4 Responses to “The Name Game”

  1. Just A Friend August 18, 2010 at 12:40 am #

    Just a thought…how about “Unchained’?

    • Kittymama August 18, 2010 at 11:39 am #

      “Unchained,”eh? Ehrm…

      Thanks for always dropping by!

  2. Anonymous August 18, 2010 at 12:42 am #

    I vote for Harmony.

    • Kittymama August 18, 2010 at 11:39 am #

      Niiice one. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

