Silver Linings

21 Aug

Silly me, I haven’t had my head screwed on right for a time. Sometimes, I forget that blogs are supposed to be updated from time to time. I keep making a mental note to write things down when something- anything- happens. “Remind me to write that down, will you?” I say to husband and he nods absentmindedly while he watches television. I continue with what I do, secure in the thought that I can get back to that thread of thought again. And then we both forget. So, when it comes to finally sitting down and facing the keyboard, I draw a blank. “Honey, what was I supposed to write about again?” I ask husband, who smiles and shrugs at me so genially that I cannot, for the life of me, get mad at him for forgetting to remind me what I’ve forgotten myself. 

These days, I often find myself drifting back to Facebook, where I have been spotted, online, at least once, by even my friends in the Sylvanian forum. (Hello, Mr. Bear!) Well, I have to be there; my Frontierville farm needs harvesting and my animals need some “tending, loving care” (get it? TLC?).  Indeed, it is so much easier to simply click on things, most of the time, and Facebook allows that freedom of unbridled, unrestrained clicking.  Then again, once you reach the point where you obsess over small things, like: “How did my FtV avatar get naked and bald?” perhaps, it’s time to move away from the keyboard and mouse and let your brain breathe a little.  

Busted and Naked

What she really looks like, with wig and dress (apparently, she is really bald)

There. Breathe in. Breathe out. Repeat. Breathe in. Breathe out.

And this is where I find myself now, this afternoon, while my eggplants mature in the farm and I wait for my energy levels to rise on its own. Blog life may be vicarious to some, but Facebook is as vicarious as it ever gets.

The retreat into a non-thinking, imagined existence can be best explained by the recent events in my home. For some reason, an unsually strong strain of the flu bug has been going around, leaving the household only long enough to allow us time to get well and be reinfected again. It’s afflicted all of us twice and has become nastier each time around. This week, it’s mutated to some weird form of the bug, where aside from the fever and sniffles, the bone pain and the fatigue, it has added even more merciless features of virulence: severe stomach cramps, nausea and vomiting, and the dreaded d word. (Yes, the d word, also known as Hershey squirts. Eewww. And don’t make me spell it out; it sounds gross already.) The last one I hate particularly. 

Fortunately, there are a lot of bright spots in these my dark hours. A dear friend sent me a lovely chocolate cake midweek, and though I can’t partake of it yet, her thoughtfulness brought me joy. Thank you, dearest B! 🙂

And then there was this package that came all the way from England, sent in by my lovely friend P-Angel of Panda Patch. I picked it up from the post office the day after I received the registry notice. I wasn’t feeling too well then, but nothing- not even the runs that came with this bout of the flu- could have ruined this absolutely perfect surprise for me. I think I looked rather foolish as I danced a jig right in front of the post office, under the rain. 🙂

The box- ta-dah!!!

SURPRISE!!! *faints for joy*

Seeing everything inside almost made me faint for joy. I hadn’t expected all these so my gratitude is endless, dear P-Angel. You truly deserve your name for you are truly an angel. Thank you!

When I even out the bad (yucky, icky, eewwy, vile &%^$#@ abdominal flu) with the good (A’s loving care (。♥‿♥。), Alex’s obedience this week- really!  (✿◠‿◠) , Alphonse’s kisses (✿ ♥‿♥), and my friends’ thoughtful gifts  (◕‿◕✿) ) then I guess I still come out on the positive side of things.  It’s not always easy living in the real world, but when it reminds you that life, however bitter, has moments of glorious happiness, then leaving the safety of predictable Frontierville makes it worth the while.

6 Responses to “Silver Linings”

  1. geri August 22, 2010 at 4:13 am #

    kami naman ni Evan ubo at sipon, pero we’re both on the road to recovery. Hirap talaga magkasakit. Ba’t kaya ganun, when we were kids it didn’t even bother us one bit =) Sarap nung chocolate cake!

    • Kittymama August 23, 2010 at 6:03 pm #

      Get well soon, Geri and Evan! 🙂

  2. P-Angel August 26, 2010 at 8:08 pm #

    Glad you liked your parcel! I think there may have been a few sweeties inside the packaging XD so if you managed to find them, yay!

    • Kittymama August 28, 2010 at 10:31 am #

      Thank you so much again! Wait for my next parcel- my turn again! 🙂

  3. Michael September 4, 2010 at 8:07 pm #

    Hello ^^

    • Kittymama September 7, 2010 at 12:07 pm #

      Hello, Mr. Bear! 🙂

Leave a Reply

