ToyTown Wonders

3 Sep

Today, I was supposed to meet some friends for lunch at Eastwood City. I was really looking forward to it. Lunch with dear friends is always more than a matter of eating well. Somehow, in their company, a meal seems to extend for three or four hours of really enjoyable, stimulating conversations. Alas! My husband, whom I can usually count on to keep an eye on Alphonse even from work, has a full schedule this last day of the week, leaving me as primary caretaker for our son. I would have loved to meet up with Mei and Ron and all our other friends, especially when I had thought to drag them out to see ToyTown Eastwood’s newest set-up.

A toy shop? Why would they want to see a toy shop?

Well, I’ve never known anyone who can resist toys. Uhm,  except my mom, who I think, was born an adult, heehee. And let’s add to that a couple of people I know who think they’re so above it all (I won’t name them but I am thinking very hard on their names just now and I hope they feel a chill down their spine), but let’s not get negative. Okay, so where was I? Ah, yes, I think people love toys- even not to play with but just to look at- because it reminds them of their younger, carefree days, and of a time when innocence and unconditional acceptance were the norm. We’re often so enmeshed in real life and in our adult roles that we forget that we were all these good things once. 

I never really got to play when I was young. I was too busy growing up, trying to fit in, trying to be someone who didn’t need to be a child. And now that I am an adult in the middle years of my life, I have found that I had traded a part of my childhood. I missed out on the chance to play and be imaginative and be carefree. And so, the very first item on my bucket list was to “Learn to play again.” It took a while, but I did it.  And I am having so much fun. (✿◠‿◠)

Back to my Eastwood story.

I haven’t been to Eastwood in a while so visiting ToyTown Eastwood recently gave me a lot of pleasant surprises. Ban Kee, the official distributor of  Sylvanian Families in the country, owns the ToyTown stores and we’ve often wondered why Sylvanian Families did not seem so prominent in their store displays.  But wait till you get a load of their new storefront display!

 Store front display shows off large Sylvanian Families wooden cutouts.

 The foyer of the toy store now features a large 360° glass display cabinet.

See the new shelves with really lovely Sylvanian characters. I just wish the shelves were full of products.

The new Regency Hotel is displayed inside the glass cabinet. Behind it is Field View mill (you can actually see its reflection on the glass.)

The new Beechwood Hall is now available at ToyTown. The box is in Japanese, as opposed to Willow Hall’s  Epoch Euro packaging. Not seen in picture is a box of the new Sycamore Cottage (starter set).

Even if you’re not a collector, you’ll surely enjoy the new display. I saw people of all ages mill around the display and stare for long minutes. Little kids loved them too, and would often have to be dragged out of the toystore by their parents. Unfortunately, so was I.  A had to drag me out or else I would have blown a “major, major” hole in our budget, jejeje. But, you know me. I am not about to be deterred from the prize. I’m going back there soon to ogle some more and with my Puss-in-Boots eyes working its magic on A, get the new releases. Wish me luck, friends!

Papa, can you hear me?

 

5 Responses to “ToyTown Wonders”

  1. Michael September 4, 2010 at 7:58 pm #

    I want to go to that store. ;_;

    • Kittymama September 7, 2010 at 12:09 pm #

      It does look nice, doesn’t it? I like going there, too. 🙂

  2. Joseph H. De Leon September 21, 2010 at 1:24 pm #

    Thank you so much! I will try my best to give you new assortments of SYLVANIAN FAMILIES.

    I would like to invite you this November 15 to December 31, 2010. We will have a Highlight Area of Sylvanians at KIDZ Station Rockwell featuring a big sylvanian diorama in front of the stores. You will also have a chance to meet the new SF mascot. Limited items will be for sale during the exhibit.

    See you there!

    • Kittymama September 22, 2010 at 10:25 pm #

      Thanks for visiting, Joseph! I will not miss this event, I promise! I’m glad that the market for Sylvanians is vibrant in the Philippines. I hope we can get more people to try out this toy line and see for themselves how fun it is to collect and play. If you need anyone to help you, you can enlist my aid anytime.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Toy Town Story - September 12, 2010

    […] ToyTown Wonders Back to my Eastwood story I haven't been to Eastwood in a while so visiting ToyTown Eastwood recently gave me a lot of pleasant surprises. Ban Kee, the official distributor of Sylvanian Families in the country, owns the ToyTown stores . […]

Leave a Reply

