Sushi-Go-Round

13 Sep

My husband and I have not always been particularly adventurous when it comes to food. In the early days of our marriage, date nights were mostly confined to traditional dining places, aside from the most obvious and most convenient choices of fast food joints. I guess when you’ve got small kids, convenience accounts for the greater part of deciding where to go to for a quick date.

With the kids a lot older and able to be left on their own (well, Alphonse is always surrounded by nannies and there’s always Alex as the bossy substitute parent when we’re not around), A and I have gone outside the box of our experiences to see more of the world and experience more of the things it offers. Years back, I would not be caught dead gobbling up oysters, but a few weeks ago, I did just that. (Thanks, Farley and Mabelle!) I’ve only learned recently to enjoy a glass of wine ( I like Shiraz) though I am still not a wine lover.  And where once my choices in meats were ignorantly well done and seared black to ensure these were absolutely cooked dead, I have learned to appreciate the different textures and flavors a medium rare piece of meat can sometimes bring. It’s not always pretty to look at, true, but it can be yummy.

A and I love Japanese food and our humongous appetites make buffets perfect for our walleta and satiety levels. We have a favorite buffet joint of all-you-can-eat Japanese food, but of late, our enthusiasm for their dishes has waned a bit. Our other favorite, found in a swanky hotel in the business district, offers even better choices in their buffet but comes with a hefty dose of eater’s remorse as the bill eventually comes out in the thousands. With our tastes finally moving away from the usual tempura and teriyaki fare, we’ve  become more daring in exploring reasonably-priced sushi and sashimi places.

One of these places is the three-year-old Sakae Sushi, which came to Manila in 2007 by way of Singapore. Their first restaurant in the country was at the SM Mall of Asia and through word of mouth, they have established a cult following of kaiten-zushi lovers.

Kaiten-zushi means conveyor belt sushi, and this, literally, is what sushi lovers find so appealing in this fast food version of a sushi joint.  Differently colored plates with various versions of the sushi move around on a rotating conveyor belt and all one has to do is pick the plate of your choice and gobble it up. No fuss, no mess, and no waiting. With prices ranging from PhP39 to PhP99 per plate, you really don’t notice the bill till it stares you right in the face. I guess that was what kept us away at first, the horror stories of persons being shocked by the amount of money they shelled out for an hour or two of eating pleasure. And it’s easy to make that mistake, we realized, because the process seems so painless at first. You just keep picking up plates till you are full, never mind the cost.

With the introduction of an all-you-can-eat buffet, however, A and I finally took that as our personal invites to the restaurant. Sakae Sushi has a branch at The Annex, SM North Edsa, and one sushi date night, A and I went there to explore their food.

At PhP399 per person (it’s PhP199 for kids) with miso soup and bottomless green tea, Sakae Sushi does give you your money’s worth. The key to enjoying any buffet is to eat a lot more than the buffet’s face value (aha!), and of that, A’s and my appetites certainly lived up to the expectations.

It was a lot of fun, albeit a little dizzying too (watching the plates go round and round) and A and I enjoyed the sushi. Their version of agedashi tofu was absolutely delish that I had tons of the stuff (okay, I exaggerate, heehee, but I certainly ate a lot of that thing). And even as A and I tried to pick up everything to try them out, in the end, our stomachs could only tolerate as much. What we missed the first time will have to wait till the next time.

I like that almost 19 years into this marriage, A and I still find time to enjoy each other’s company. Our dates are really not just about food; it’s about US and how 29 years into a relationship that commits itself to friendship and love, we still find each other enjoyable company. Sushi and date nights, I’d recommend it for all.

Two piles- one is mine, the other is A's. Guess which one is whose?

8 Responses to “Sushi-Go-Round”

  1. Just A Friend September 14, 2010 at 12:04 am #

    29 years, Kittymama? You don’t look so old…

    I’m not big into sushis but you’ve convinced me to give it a try. The price does seem reasonable, but was the soup and tea worth it?

    • Kittymama September 14, 2010 at 6:25 pm #

      Hehehe, thanks… I think…

      The miso soup was good but the tea could have used a little more sugar. A and I ordered extra drinks on the side, hehe. 🙂

  2. anonymous September 14, 2010 at 12:56 pm #

    Sarap!!!

    • Kittymama September 14, 2010 at 6:25 pm #

      Korek!

  3. P-Angel September 14, 2010 at 2:30 pm #

    I don’t eat a lot of meat, but I love vegetarian sushi. Zead has been to Japan on a placement during his Medicine degree (I think he stayed there for around a month), and he’s addicted to the stuff 😀

    • Kittymama September 14, 2010 at 6:19 pm #

      I like all kinds of sushi so vegetarian is absolutely fine with me, too. Especially if it has mangoes in it. 🙂

      Oh, Zead is one lucky guy! I haven’t been to Japan in years and I am working on making my way back one of these days. 🙂

      • P-Angel September 16, 2010 at 2:48 pm #

        Zead loved Japan and wants to go back, too!

        He told me when he was there, he walked through some reeds, and some leeches attached themselves to his leg. “Damn”, he thought. “They’ll drop off eventually when they’ve had enough.”

        But they never did. Apparently he went to the hospital to have them taken off, and all the doctors were laughing at him 😀

  4. Kittymama September 16, 2010 at 3:48 pm #

    Poor Zaed! The leeches must have thought him sweet, heehee! But that could not have been any fun for him, seeing them suck blood and becoming engorged by it, ewww! I hope his legs healed fine.

Leave a Reply

