The Night Before

19 Sep

Nineteen years ago, on the very night before my husband and I got married, I remember talking to him for a few minutes on the phone. Before we said goodbye, I asked him if he was sure, really, really sure, that this next step was what he wanted to take at that point in his life.  He said, “I have never been more sure of anything in my life than this. I want a life with you.” I wept for joy. The next day, with my hand in his, we took a step forward into building a life with each other.

Fast forward to tonight, towards the end of our dinner date, I asked him this question: “What do you think are the two best things in our life from these past 19 years?”

Without batting an eyelash, he said, “Alex and Alphonse.””

“I would not have thought to answer it that way, hon, ” I told him, thinking of my own answers and how different they were from his.

“You and I are a constant. That would have been the easy answer, hon.”

I looked at him from across the table and I was overwhelmed by my feelings for this man before me. My eyes welled in tears. Nineteen years into this marriage, we have only scratched the surface of forever. Thank you, A. I truly, deeply, madly love you.

4 Responses to “The Night Before”

  1. Arlet September 19, 2010 at 11:39 pm #

    I love hearing your love stories (with matching kilig on the side). Congratulations po, Ms. Pinky and Sir A, on your 19th anniversary. I wish you both more happy years and may God bless you with an everlasting love.♥♥♥ Alex and Alphonse are truly blessed to have cool parents like you. 😉

    • Kittymama September 20, 2010 at 7:47 am #

      Thank you for your kind words, Arlet! I feel really, really blessed to have A in my life, and blessed to have friends like you. 🙂

      P.S. I don’t know if Alex will agree to your assessment of us being “cool.” We’re probably two old, mushy people, as far as he is concerned.He keeps telling us to “get a room,” heehee!

  2. Just A Friend September 21, 2010 at 7:46 am #

    Happy 19th, Kittymama. God bless! 🙂

    • Kittymama September 22, 2010 at 10:33 pm #

      Thank you, friend! 🙂

Leave a Reply

