Dang This Dengue Day

21 Sep

It’s almost two in the morning, Manila time. I am just about to go to bed, this anniversary date finally behind me. I wish I could regale you with tales of romance and adventure but Murphy’s Law bested us again. All our best laid plans went awry, from the weekend getaway which was scrapped at the last minute to all the activities we had planned for ourselves today.

Alphonse’s nanny was struck ill late last week and what we prayed to be just the flu has turned out to be more serious than that. Late this afternoon, her Dengue NS1 Antigen test proved positive, and tonight, we had brought her to the hospital for confinement. Between shuttling to and from the hospital laboratory to  making the arrangements for her hospital stay, my husband and I had barely a few hours to ourselves. Except for picking up the cake, nothing about this day screamed anniversary at all.

Still, despite the hiccups to this day, we are deeply grateful that we caught our nanny’s illness in time. She’s not yet our of the woods and we continue to pray for her complete recovery and ask you, dear readers, to do the same.

I haven’t opened the boxes that A gave me for our anniversary. I would have, if I had enough time, but right now, I am just too tired. They’ll have to wait till tomorrow. I do have some pictures to show you but they’ll probably only whet your appetite as they did mine. You can try to guess what’s inside, though. 🙂

I’ve had the first box for a few days now but I held off opening it till today. Alas! Today was a bust too so it’ll have to be done tomorrow when A comes home from work. I do have an idea of what’s inside this box that came all the way from New York via Johnny Air Cargo but it’s a little too big to account for all my guesses.

Balikbayan Box

Then this morning, I was greeted by the sight of a large wrapped gift at the foot of our bed. Hmmm… this one I think I can guess…. but let’s prolong the excitement some more, shall we?

Rustan's gift box

Knowing I have two boxes waiting for me at home ate at me the whole day. But if I thought two was enough, A apparently decided I needed one more. Just a few minutes ago, as A turned in for bed (I told him I would write a little before going to sleep myself), I was surprised to see this innocent looking paper bag on the bed beside Alphonse. I had to take this picture of the way I found the bag because this baffles me no end. One minute he was saying “goodnight,” the next, there was a bag on the bed. How did he do that? Where does he hide his gifts? I honestly don’t know. *scratches head*

Guess what's inside the bag!

It’s been a long day and I really am very tired.Not too tired, however, to give thanks for this day, which, despite all the humps and the bumps on what was supposed to be a well-planned day, was still spent with A and I TOGETHER. And in the end, it’s really the only thing that matters.

6 Responses to “Dang This Dengue Day”

  1. Haydee September 21, 2010 at 3:02 am #

    Happy Anniversary Kittymama and A! Pati ako na suspense sa laman ng gifts mo! Bitin!!! I hope and pray that your nanny gets well real soon. I know the feeling because it happened to me, too. =( God bless! Mwah!

    • Kittymama September 21, 2010 at 11:55 am #

      Thanks, Haydee! I will open the boxes tonight! *crosses fingers*

      Thank you for your prayers for Alphonse’s nanny. I am worried but I also have faith that God will take care of her. God bless you too! Kisses!

  2. Just A Friend September 21, 2010 at 7:43 am #

    I’m sorry to hear about Alphonse’s nanny. I hope she recovers fast.

    Belated happy anniversary, Kittymama. God bless you and A.

    • Kittymama September 21, 2010 at 11:53 am #

      Thank you, my friend. 🙂 And thank you for always dropping by and saying hello. I realy appreciate it.

  3. lasketti September 21, 2010 at 12:29 pm #

    Happy anniversary… nakaka excite naman… kala ko naman sa dulo me mare-reveal na. Hugs to you my dear dear friend.. mmmmwah!

    Get well soon to your dear nanny….

    • Kittymama September 22, 2010 at 10:30 pm #

      Stella, thank you for visiting (I know you are traveling) and wishing me well today. I posted a few pics of some of the gifts and I’ll try to take more pictures tonight. Sorry for the suspense, hehehe.

      Blessings always, dear friend! 🙂

Leave a Reply

