The Mini- Reveal

22 Sep

I only have a few minutes in front of the PC as our household is shorthanded these past few days. Two nannies are in the hospital right now; one is sick and the other serves as bantay (literal translation: watcher or guard). Since I am unable to leave Alphonse for long stretches of time, I call them regularly to check on their needs and visit daily to bring food and clothing.  With our household decimated and short of manpower, we’ve had to do a lot of double-casting and role reassignments. Alphonse senses something is amiss in our home, and as such, feels very unsettled and insecure, sometimes even acting out. So even as I worry about the nannies in the hospital, I have to be on my toes with Alphonse all the time.

With the flurry of events overwhelming the entire household, we all seem to have very little time to destress. I am taking my little window of Me time right now with a little cake (itty-bitty, Mommy, I promise!) and coffee. As you can see above, my sweet husband also gave me Kitty cake from BreadTalk. It was bee-yoo-ti-ful! We tried to hold off eating it till the last possible moment, but the kids insisted that cake is always their territory. I saved the ribbon for today and while I am waiting for the spaghetti sauce to simmer, I savor these few moments of relaxation. 🙂

I did finally get the boxes opened and boy, were they everything I wanted and more! Unfortunately, I haven’t had enough time to sort them out and take lots of pictures. Late last night, when everyone was asleep, I got some photos sorted out, resized, and labeled. I hope you all bear with me as I do a mini-reveal first. I’ll try to update as often as I can get pictures loaded.

My Sanrio friends are here! 🙂 These three furry Build-A-Bear creatures jumped right out of the box upon opening. I can’t believe they endured all that time in that stuffy brown box. They were squished and a little manhandled so they were not too friendly at first, but a little kiss for the booboos made them a lot more friendly.  Everyone, I introduce you to KerokeroP-Noy, Jejocat, and Mai (as in Mai Melody, haha, this play on My Melody’s name courtesy of Alex- thank you, baby).

 A didn’t get me Hello Kitty anymore because the new Kitty was virtually the same as the last one, but he did get me new clothing for her.  Aside from the leopard print PJs (rawr!), Kitty got the ruffle tee, the tropical tank top, an extra 35th anniversary shirt, and another 35th anniversary dress. You can also see the bag clips that he bought extra (BAB did not give the freebie clips and it was too late to complain about it, the box having traveled all the way to Manila by then).

I only have one more picture in this lot and these gifts did not come wrapped. These were just there the next day, the way they seem to magically appear before me, haha. It seems I only have to think a thought and voila! There they were! 🙂 

Seriously though, I love that my husband outdoes himself each time. Not only that, he gives them with such flair that I never really know what to expect. Some girls get petals on the bed and candles on the tub; I get magic boxes strewn around me. Best of all, I love that he loves me still, today, 19 years after, with warts and all (figurative warts, mind you), cellulite and thunder thighs included (literal fat, honestly), bossiness and mushiness not exempted.

Honey, if you are reading this, I want you to know that as seriously mushy, maudlin, mawkish, and schmaltzy as this sounds,  ikaw pa rin ang pangarap ko. Thank you for wanting to grow old with me.

11 Responses to “The Mini- Reveal”

  1. Slamdunk September 22, 2010 at 11:00 am #

    That sounds like a busy schedule there. I hope you are able to get some help soon.

    • Kittymama September 22, 2010 at 10:07 pm #

      Thank you! I hope the nanny gets better soon so we can all get back to our regular routine. 🙂

      Thank you for dropping by and leaving a comment. Blessings!

  2. maniladawg September 22, 2010 at 11:06 am #

    hello kitty mama. congratulations to both of you. the sanrio friends are anniversary gifts i presume. nice!

    • Kittymama September 22, 2010 at 10:09 pm #

      Thank you! Yes, the Sanrio friends are part of the anniversary gifts my husband gave me. I haven’t finished photographing all of the gifts and it will take a while, I think, to get them all loaded. Thanks for coming by and saying hello! 🙂

  3. A September 22, 2010 at 11:30 am #

    You, too, are my dream. And you come true every single day. You don’t just complete me; you make me. I would deem my life fulfilled were it but fleetingly touched by you, and thus consider myself blessed I’m spending it with you by my side. I love you. For forever and a day.

    • Kittymama September 22, 2010 at 10:17 pm #

      what can I say to this except I feel humbled by your love and blessed by my good fortune? Thank you, honey.

      I love you. Always and forever.

      • AC September 22, 2010 at 10:18 pm #

        Guys, go get a room! Please!!! 😄

  4. cynch September 22, 2010 at 12:35 pm #

    waaaahhhh O.O, @.@ such wonderful gifts from my ideal guy (kittypapa) hehehe :D. you got the whole family of BAB Sanrio friends now…w/ the clips even…*drooling. bee-yoo-tiful BAB hk 35th anniv dress!!! was the cake as delicious as it is super pretty? *sigh…you guys are sooo perfect for each other ♥

    • Kittymama September 22, 2010 at 10:11 pm #

      Hay, Kittypapa says thank you for the compliment, hehehe! The 35th anniversary dress is simply beautiful, ‘no? Good thing A was able to get me one more. And yes, the cake was good. 🙂

      Thank you for the kind words, Cynch! Kisses!

  5. MMRamos September 22, 2010 at 11:10 pm #

    Hi. I came across your site as I was searching for feedback on the sanrio cakes of breadtalk. I just wanted to know which flavor of the hello kitty you got and if it was any good? was it moist too? i’m considering getting this for my daughter’s birthday since she’s requesting for a hello kitty cake. thanks much.

    • Kittymama September 24, 2010 at 1:53 pm #

      We got the one with all chocolate (chocolate chiffon with chocolate ganache) and it was good. It ran more to my tastes of not too sweet chocolate but perhaps not sweet enough for kids. I want to try the ones with fruit next (vanilla chiffon with mango filling).

      It’s really a beautiful cake but BreadTalk SMNE The Block said they do not write on these cakes so we had to skip on the anniversary blurb. If it’s meant to be a birthday cake, please consider that you’ll have to buy a plastic birthday banner to go with it.

Leave a Reply

