The Mini-Reveal Part Three: Let There Be Light

27 Sep

It’s been harder and harder to get any super-reading done, what with supervillain Havoc (secret identity: Alphonse) on the move against paper, books, and yes, even the Kindle. I have my precious books stashed away in safe, secret places where he is least likely to get them, but the Kindle, a constant companion, is always threatened with severe mechanism harm and leather case injury. As such, I have placed myself on constant threat level Orange or on high alert for potential damages . 

Alphonse’s behavior has totally conditioned my own that I have resorted to reading late at night when everyone else is asleep. You can’t imagine the relief this arrangement brings to my mind. Being able to read in peace is a gift. There is no stress, no guilt, no worry; for those few hours, there is only the book and me. In the quiet semi-darkness of the room, I find a little piece of nirvana as I tread the world of words. However, this seemingly brilliant, albeit simple, plan to thwart Havoc is also wreaking havoc on someone I love. A is often awakened by my night light (the trusty Hello Kitty lamp on my side table) and finds it very difficult to catch his Zzzzs again. Although he never says a word, never complains, and never drops any hints, I know losing his sleep affects his daytime schedule (he is a very early riser). Obviously, late-night reading is not a perfect solution for my husband and me. 😦

I tried to do it the old-fashioned way. Turning off the lamp, I read under bed covers and with a flashlight on, the way I used to when I was a child defying my parents’  bedtime rules. It still worked but after a while my hands got tired and numb from the awkward positions I found myself in. A few nights later, it wasn’t the flashlight that kept A awake, it was just me and the silly movements I caused in bed while looking for more comfortable positions with the Kindle in one hand and a flashlight in the other. That signaled the end to my flashlight adventures.   

When you share a room with someone you love, you are forever mindful of his/her wellbeing and comfort level. As much as I want to continue my comforting routine, it was time to sacrifice my reading time for the sake of my husband’s good night rest. But I miss my books and I miss my Kindle, so, what to do? What to do?

I did not know that even as I worried about my husband’s comfort level, he was also troubled about my lack of de-stressing time. My husband knows that I love reading and that I look forward to this little Me time every day. On our recent anniversary, aside from all the wonderful toys and awesome Kitties, one of the best anniversary gifts he gave me was to return this time of day back to me(✿◠‿◠)

How did he do it? I only have two words: Octovo Solis.

This is the Octovo Solis Kindle light, made of sleek brushed aluminum- beautiful to look at but made sturdy and robust. It is small and compact, which is a real nice thing in a small device such as this version of the Kindle. The warm LED light is on the swivel arm and rotating this arm to a 90° angle powers the light. Swivel up is on and swivel down is off, as simple as that. I like that it does not have the bulky flexible arm featured in common book lights- Alphonse loves to to twist and destroy those. I also like that it uses easily accessible batteries and not the kinds I would have to go to the hardware to look for. And I love that it is very energy efficient; a single double A battery is good for at least 25 hours of reading.     

The Octovo sits on top of the Kindle via a reliable rubberized grip. You can turn the entire device upside down and the light won’t fall of. (Believe me, I’ve tried.) It is angled slightly forward so that the light shines all the way to the bottom of the page.  The emitted light is soft and warm and does not cause glare on the front display. Just as the e-ink works against eye strain, so too does this light as it leaves the book interface as pristine as it would be in normal light.

Finally, here is a picture of me, taken in complete darkness, my camera working without flash and on ISO 1600 setting. You can see how well the Octovo lights up the page but still keeps the rest of the room dark enough for my sleeping husband. Now this is what I call a win-win situation.  Thank you, honey! Sleep well tonight! 🙂

4 Responses to “The Mini-Reveal Part Three: Let There Be Light”

  1. Just A Friend September 27, 2010 at 10:28 am #

    Nice review, sis. I’ve got to hand it to your husband. He does know how to give you gifts. Lucky you! 🙂

    • Kittymama September 28, 2010 at 2:12 pm #

      Thanks, sis!

  2. Anonymous September 27, 2010 at 11:35 am #

    Hey, cool advisory! Your supervillain must really be one fearsome dude that he gets an advisory all to himself, hahaha.

    • Kittymama September 28, 2010 at 2:13 pm #

      I know. 🙂 And I love the idea of shouting “Orange! Orange!” to the household, hahaha!

Leave a Reply

