Makeover Magic in Kitty Little Lanes

28 Sep

It started with an idea that simply would not go away. Blame my DIY predilection. It would have been perfectly fine had I simply left it alone but a few missing pieces nagged me and gave me no peace. Either I complete the whole set or change it altogether, my OC tendencies screamed at me. In the end, after some advice and encouragement from my friends at the Sylvanian forum, I decided to go for it.

This Sylvanian Cake Shop and Bakery has definitely seen better days. Peeling and broken stickers, dirt on the plastic walls, and missing items, including the centerpiece of the shop — the display counter, told me that some little child must have loved this very much. In its ideal state, it would have looked like this, as seen from this extensive collection owned by forum friend Cotton1234:

 

After a good scrub

There were, however, some good things going for it. The stickers were easy to peel and clean, leaving residue that dissolved easily in soap and water. Also, the roof and walls were not discolored or faded, needing only a little spit and shine to remove the grime and dirt that had built up in some places. It is this good fortune that convinced me not to go full-mod. Modifying the building using acrylic paints was not necessary, given the walls’ good condition. Thus, I decided to work on the renovation using only homemade printed stickers.

I wanted a pizza shop. The facade of the building, with its curved arches and columns, reminded me so much of Italian pizzerias. Besides, I already had two Sylvanian pizza stalls looking for a more permanent home, someplace where the critters of Kitty Little Lanes can dine in, get pizza to go, or call for deliveries. It would be a place where students can hang out and chill after a hard exam and where families can come for a quick meal. It would also be a family business, owned and operated by a family of hardworking denizens of KLL.

I worked on this project on and off for close to three weeks. Some days, I hardly got anything done, what with all the imaginings and daydreaming that preceded real action. And some days I was possessed by an overwhelming desire to finish that nothing — not even the call of a good meal — could entice me away from my project. Tonight, I finally finished. Setting up took most of the afternoon and photography took a few more hours. Working all the way through dinner, I managed to get enough shots to make me feel like I really accomplished something.

So, without further ado, let me unveil Kitty Little Lanes’ new Sylvanian Pizza Shop.

This is the storefront with newly-installed “glass” windows (made of acetate) and new name displays (made from printed sticker paper).

This is the window adjoining the takeout stand. Lace curtains give the place a homey “mom-and-pop operation” feel and pizza posters decorate the walls. Menus are placed in a strategic place for maximum recall.

The missing display counter was remade into a cardboard counter with faux wood finish. Using a plastic corrugated board as base and regular cardboard for the countertop, I was able to create an extra working space for taking orders, receiving payment, and picking up pizzas for the dine-in self-service crowd.

I’m mighty proud of this handmade counter. It was a little difficult getting the measurements down and the curved base made the construction more tedious. In the end, it was a relief to find that even the color scheme works rather well.

After the brief tour, it is time to test the market with a soft opening. As the pizza shop fills up, the Wildwood Family members start their work hours with a prescribed plan of manned stations.

Father and older brother will deliver the pizzas.

Older sister will be in charge of the takeout counter.

Little sister will be Mom’s gofer and help in the takeout window by the side of the shop, passing along orders for pizza to go from the kitchen to the takeout counter.

  

Mother will head the kitchen and man the dine-in counter.

And Little brother will prove he’s the big man of the kitchen by deftly taking out the pizzas from the wood oven before they burn.

Welcome to the Wildwoods’ Pizza Shop. Come and visit again!

~0~

P.S. Remember the bag that magically appeared in bed beside Alphonse? (See this.) Well, I got great photos for this feature because of the Sony Cybershot TX9, another one of A’s anniversary gifts. (If you thought the gift reveal is done and over with, well, you’ve got another thing coming, heehee.)

9 Responses to “Makeover Magic in Kitty Little Lanes”

  1. Anonymous September 28, 2010 at 10:06 am #

    Oooohhhh, I love this. Ang galing, ha!

    • Kittymama September 28, 2010 at 2:09 pm #

      Salamat. I’m glad you liked it.

  2. Just A Friend September 28, 2010 at 11:03 am #

    Wow, a new camera! You sure are one lucky lady.

    • Kittymama September 28, 2010 at 2:11 pm #

      Indeed, I am, and I am very grateful. 🙂 I’m still learning my new camera’s features but if it’s anything like my old Sony T100 (which I really love), then I’m going to enjoy taking pictures with this even more. Thanks, friend!

  3. CrystalC. September 28, 2010 at 11:35 pm #

    I love the “Got Pizza” sign. lol, nice touch!

    • Kittymama September 29, 2010 at 1:55 pm #

      Thanks, Crystal! My favorite is the Peace Pizza sign. 🙂

  4. Whirlwindsparkle August 29, 2012 at 1:14 am #

    Mmm..Peppironi please!
    Beautiful

    • Kittymama August 29, 2012 at 11:54 am #

      Pepperoni pizza coming right up! 🙂 Thanks for liking it, my dear!

  5. Jona Sy August 30, 2016 at 7:27 pm #

    Very very late reply! Haha. But I love what you did with the cake shop! You’ve given it a new life. ^^

Leave a Reply

