I Went to the John Mayer Concert in Manila and All I Got Was a Cold

2 Oct

I didn’t even get a lot of good pictures.

Friday, October 1, was a rainy day from start to finish. It wasn’t really all that bad during the daytime. There were drizzles here and there and the sky was overcast and slightly gloomy but there was nothing that threatened to ruin the fun of a good night. John Mayer Live in Manila was an event that took more than six months to make happen and people were eagerly waiting for it. Originally slated for a summer month (May 16th, actually), the show didn’t push through as scheduled and was moved to October. Rain or no rain, however, people who paid exorbitant prices for their tickets (see prices below)

  • V.I.P. = Php 12,000 ($255)
  • Gold = Php 8,000 ($170)
  • Silver = Php 5,000 ($107)
  • Bronze = Php 2,000 ($43)
  • General Admission = Php 600 ($13)

were not going to be daunted and would brave the downpour, face flashfloods, and navigate through horrible traffic just to make it that night.

(Before the rains came again) Alex not happy to watch this cool concert with, urgh, parents!

If I was buoyant and optimistic during the daytime that night would provide some respite from the rain, I was terribly wrong. By six and already en route to the venue, the rains poured madly and traffic crawled at a snail’s pace. There were times when water lashed the windshield so angrily and lapped at our vehicle’s side so strongly that I was overwhelmed with Ondoy pananoia. Still, we made good time, thanks to A’s impressive knowledge of Metro Manila’s convoluted streets, arriving at SM Mall of Asia just a little before the show started.

We wanted to catch the show in its entirety, including Aiza Seguerra’s front act, but hunger and throbbing headaches won over our love for Aiza’s music. We headed over to SuperBowl for a meal, gobbled everything, and ran all the way back to the venue as fast as our distended bellies would allow us.

Umbrellas Up!

By then, the drizzles had started again, slowly increasing in intensity and duration. The umbrellas went up. I was angry at myself for not insisting on raincoats for all of us. Among the three of us, all we had for protection was a shawl, a large golf umbrella, and a baseball cap. I was also quite peeved that the concert was not moved indoors or that arrangements were not made to cover the place even in some portions. All the seats were dripping wet. We exhausted my tissue supply to wipe them down reasonably dry. Worse, the plastic chairs were tied down to one another (I understand the reasons why they tie down the seats, but really!) and it was quite a feat to move them around without disturbing our neighbors’ seats. Moving around in cramped aisles was also horribly difficult, what with huge umbrellas that can poke and put out eyes.

Still, when John Mayer went onstage and started singing, I was momentarily dazzled by his beautiful music. ٩(-̮̮̃-̃)۶ ٩(-̮̮̃-̃)۶ ٩(-̮̮̃-)۶ Kids around me jumped on their seats and while there was almost very little to see in this flat, open air venue except raincoats and umbrellas (and to think we were not too far from the stage), the music was enough for me. A and I sat down on our wet seats and tried to fit under the umbrella to avoid getting wetter while Alex wrapped my shawl around his head and went to the aisles to get a better view.  After a while, when the rains got harder and I started to feel a bad chill, I asked A if we could just go home. Thankfully, A and Alex didn’t mind that I was such a killjoy. 😦 

I am listening to John Mayer on iTunes right now, warm and safe in the comfort of my room. I am also nursing a rather bad cold today. Still, last night was worth it, if only for this one perfect picture.

 Oops, wrong picture, teehee! You have to admit, though, that A and I looked cute, even when wet and chilled to the bone.

John Mayer Live In Manila 10.01.10

I hope he comes back to Manila. But please, not when it rains.

6 Responses to “I Went to the John Mayer Concert in Manila and All I Got Was a Cold”

  1. Just a Friend October 2, 2010 at 3:18 pm #

    You and A look happy, even if wet. And I could just imagine your son’s reaction at being your “date” for the night, hahaha.

    • Kittymama October 3, 2010 at 9:52 pm #

      Thank you! You’re right, Alex wanted to watch but wasn’t particularly happy to have to be chaperoned. Teenagers!

  2. cynch October 2, 2010 at 3:33 pm #

    hahahaha…u got me there :)!

    • Kittymama October 3, 2010 at 9:52 pm #

      Naka-isa na naman ako, Cynch! Heehee! 🙂 Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment, ha? Really appreciate it.

  3. Anonymous October 2, 2010 at 5:22 pm #

    Ang sweet naman…

    ni John Mayer! Weeh!

    Hehehe!

    • Kittymama October 3, 2010 at 9:53 pm #

      I thought A and I were sweet, haha!

Leave a Reply

