Coffee Break

6 Oct

I’m on my fourth cup of coffee right now, the blackest, most bitter cup of coffee I can tolerate because right now, I am still sleepy and it’s almost mid-afternoon. Getting Alphonse to bed hasn’t been much of a problem these last two nights, though his sleep hours are still off as he wakes up really early in the morning. Everyone rushes to bed as soon as Alphonse sleeps to anticipate his early mornings but I have a hard time following suit. Even with all the chores finished, I lie in bed awake, staring at the ceiling. I read until I feel ready for sleep, but sleep remains elusive until it’s very late. As such, when he wakes up in the morning, I am bleary-eyed and disoriented. I am definitely not a morning person.

The only thing I love about mornings is coffee. I love coffee’s rich, deep scent. I love the way a single cup could infuse an entire room with its enticing aroma. I love the explosion of flavors in my mouth, a mixture of different kinds of sweetness with tiny hints of dry and bitterness. I love the robustness of coffee, its fullbodied thickness lingering for several delicious moments. I love the way it fills me up warm from my throat to my belly. I love it instant. I love it brewed. I love it black and bitter. I love it with cream and loads of sugar. I love it light and frothy. I love it heavy and dense. I love it with chocolate or cinnamon or vanilla or coconut, or just about anything I could think of. Yes, I love coffee. (Can’t you tell?)

The Oatmeal has a great post (you can buy it as a poster)  called 15(ish) Things Worth Knowing About Coffee which begins with the legend of dancing goats in Ethiopia. I find it really apt that that the birthplace of history and, some would say, life (Africa) is also the origin of one of life’s most lifegiving, energizing drinks. As an Asian, I grew up with tea in the house but that never really caught my fancy, unless I had to be forced-fed with it when sick or when trying to lose weight. I can drink tea only two ways- cold, with lots of lemons and sugar, or hot, with lots of lemons and sugar- whereas coffee makes me crazy with all sorts of combinations.

Perhaps the only coffee I have never ever thought to try is Kape Alamid (its name in the Philippines) or Kopi Luwak (Indonesia), coffee made from the beans of robusta or arabica berries eaten and passed partially digested by the Asian civet.  Said to cost a whopping USD600 per pound, this is the most expensive coffee in the world. I love my coffee, yes, but thinking about how these beans passed through the civet cat and ended up as poop  is enough to make me …uhrm… hurl.  I invite you too to do a Google search for pictures of Kopi Luwak and see this and this and this…No, I am NOT going to post pictures! With those images burned in my head, how can I ever drink Kopi Luwak ever?

It’s good that I like my coffee cheap and easy. Then again, who really needs expensive ass coffee, tell me?

7 Responses to “Coffee Break”

  1. NinJas! October 6, 2010 at 5:16 pm #

    don’t knock it till you’ve tried it, sister 😛 Coffee alamid is quite gooooooooooood.

    Ms. Vie (http://www.arengga.com/) showed me what coffee bean-riddled civet poop looks like. Even held it in my (gloved) hand. Kinda looks like a snickers bar.

    • NinJas! October 6, 2010 at 5:19 pm #

      a snickers bar without the chocolate coating, that is. And no, the specimen I handled wasn’t squishy. it was dry and compact.

    • Kittymama October 6, 2010 at 6:00 pm #

      I know it is good, everyone who has ever tried it has said so, but as I told a friend, I have way too vivid an imagination to ever try it. Those images are seared into my brain…forever.

      And you have just ruined Snickers bars for me. Bah!

      • NinJas! October 6, 2010 at 8:41 pm #

        then my work here is done!

  2. Indiana Lori October 6, 2010 at 6:57 pm #

    I tried to leave a comment, and of course, I think I deleted it. Haven’t had my coffee yet. Loving your blog as well! Thank you for finally elucidating for me why I love coffee…you are spot on.

    Not to throw in advice comment #1, but we’ve been through the sleep ringer with our oldest daughter. Sleep hygiene are the main words in our house. After 4 painful years of being awake, our pediatrician (and 2 others) recommended melatonin. Our bodies make it, and it puts us to sleep. Children make a ton of it (well, not my daughter, I believe), and it’s believed in some circles that autistic kids make very little of it (hence their famous sleepless problems). My dear friend tried it in her daughter with mild autism, and it was a Godsend. We started last year, and it has saved our collective minds. No hangover, no drowsiness…just a quick onset of a long and peaceful rest. It comes as a liquid for kids at health food stores.

    I wish you rest. It’s everything! That much parenthood has taught me. OH the nights I’ve jumped in bed and stared at the ceiling.

    Kind Regards,

    Lori of Wisdom Comes Suddenly

    P.S. I KNOW…look at those Critters just passed out on the floor! Shameless!

    • Kittymama October 7, 2010 at 11:47 am #

      Hi, Lori! Thank you for dropping by for a visit- this is such a nice suprise! 🙂

      We tried melatonin in the past but it didn’t seem to work all that well before. My son is quite a hyperactive fellow and has a metabolism that processes superfast (even medications). Now that he’s older and calmer, I think we just might give it a try again. Thank you for your recommendation. I really appreciate it.

      Thanks again, Lori, and hope to see you around! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. World Spinner - October 16, 2010

    Coffee Break « Okasaneko Chronicles…

    Here at World Spinner we are debating the same thing……

Leave a Reply

