Now 16, Forever Sweet

3 Nov

Today, Alphonse turns sixteen.

It never ceases to amaze me when I look at him, now almost grown up. He stands three inches taller than me, fits into men’s clothing, and sports a slightly disheveled moustache which matches the smattering of hair in his armpits. Everywhere I look, I no longer see a trace of the baby or the child he once was. All I see is a man.

The truth is, I miss my baby. I miss the sweetness of his breath in the morning. I miss the softness of his unblemished skin. I miss being able to carry  him in the crook of my arm to sing him to sleep.

 I miss the way he fits in the side of my body when he curls up in bed with me.

I miss his chubby cheeks and his round, heavy body. I miss the hibernating porkchop and his pouty lips.

I miss his childlike smile, the one that erases all my fears away. 

But even as I miss those mementoes of his childhood, I marvel at who he has become today. Almost a man, but not quite. Loud, quirky, opinionated, determined. Headstrong and bullish. Sweet and trusting. 

It has been a long journey from then to now. There were many days of pain and heartache, and of grief and despair, but for each one of those miserable days, our lives were blessed a millionfold by what we have learned living with and loving him. Alphonse has taught us patience and tolerance, forgiveness and acceptance, gratitude and surrender. Most of all, he has taught us how to love without hope or thought of reciprocity. We love him because we do, and not because of anything he does to make us love him. It’s as simple as that.

Happy birthday, our dear sweet child, our Alphonse.  Papa, Mama, and Kuya Alex love you so much.

~0~

While on the subject of birthday celebrations, this blog also turns a year older this month. Happy 3rd birthday to Okasaneko Chronicles!

In 2007, when I started blogging, I was lucky to get even just ten people a day to read my blog. Three years later, despite the lack of promotion (I’ve never really been very big at that) and the freedom to express myself, those numbers have multiplied exponentially. In this little corner of the Internet I call Kittymama’s home, I have made many friends. I have also become part of a larger community of people I would never have met were it not for this wonderful experience. Thank you to all those who have come, visited, read, lingered, commented, returned, or even just glanced at the pages of my life. I am humbled by your kindness and love.

The Okasaneko Chronicles’ 3rd Blog Birthday Giveaway starts today so please be sure to leave a comment in this blog post to join. You can read the mechanics here for the full details on the giveaway. Many, many thanks to all those who have helped make this giveaway a reality: Sanrio Gift Gate Philippines, Ban Kee Trading, Inc., BusinessWorld/HerWord.com, Autism Society Philippines, The Fairy Godmother, and Alphie (who is none other than Alphonse, the birthday boy who wishes to share his birthday blessings with his Mama).

 

57 Responses to “Now 16, Forever Sweet”

  1. Lyra November 3, 2010 at 12:58 am #

    Happy happy birthday to dear Alphonse. I can feel the overflowing love and you made me cry once again kittymama.

    • Kittymama November 4, 2010 at 2:26 pm #

      Thank you, Lyra. Big hugs to you and Jessy. 🙂

  2. Jennifer T. Angeles November 3, 2010 at 8:43 am #

    Sweet momma, we will always miss the baby we once had. How do we deal with life when they start leaving our nest? We bond, girl. Mommas bond. They take off and we are left alone.

    Love you Jen! Miss my childhood friend too!

    • Kittymama November 4, 2010 at 2:28 pm #

      I was so surprised, Jen, but very pleased that you left a comment. Thank you!

      With Alphonse, we know that he will need us for the rest of his life and we are at peace with that. But yes, mommas bond and it is this bond that sustains us on days when the world spins much too fast for us. Thanks for being a good friend, then and now. We may not see each other for years at a time, but know that I treasure your friendship forever.

  3. bbqweasel November 3, 2010 at 6:03 pm #

    Happy birthday Alphonse! I hope you guys had a great day! 🙂

    • Kittymama November 4, 2010 at 2:38 pm #

      Thank you! We had a blast and I think he still has a hangover from all the excitement of the past days. 🙂

  4. Eric November 3, 2010 at 6:40 pm #

    Happy birthday, Alphonse! Happy Alphonse’s birthday, Pinky!

    • Kittymama November 4, 2010 at 2:39 pm #

      Thanks, Eric! Your little girl’s birthday is coming soon too so November is super special! 🙂

  5. Casdok November 3, 2010 at 7:01 pm #

    Big happy birthday to dear Alphonse 🙂
    And happy blogday!

    • Kittymama November 4, 2010 at 2:39 pm #

      Thanks, Casdok! My wish for his birthday next year- I hope we could go “clubbing” like you and C! 🙂

  6. Leileilei November 3, 2010 at 11:37 pm #

    I want to win in Okasaneko Chronicles 3rd Blog Birthday Giveaway!

    happy double birthday okasaneko and alphonse-kun!
    i have my favorite alphonse too, he’s the younger brother in the japanese series full metal alchemist. 🙂 i’ve been landing on your blog from your multiply page. thanks for the fun posts. 😀

    • Kittymama November 4, 2010 at 2:40 pm #

      Thanks for joining, Leileilei!

      Full Metal Alchemist also happens to be his big brother’s favorite because of Alphonse. 🙂

  7. anne November 4, 2010 at 12:57 pm #

    I want to win in Okasaneko Chronicles 3rd Blog Birthday Giveaway!! yey!! 🙂
    happy birthday to alphonse and to your blog!
    god bless po! 🙂

  8. John Lenard D. Cruz November 4, 2010 at 4:37 pm #

    I want to win in Okasaneko Chronicles 3rd Blog Birthday Giveaway!
    Happy Birthday to Alphonse and your blog !

    • Kittymama November 6, 2010 at 10:46 am #

      Thank you, John! 🙂 You’ve officially joined the contest!

  9. celine November 4, 2010 at 6:07 pm #

    I want to win in Okasaneko Chronicles 3rd Blog Birthday Giveaway! 🙂

    Happy birthday to Alphonse! More power to you and your blog! 🙂

    • Kittymama November 6, 2010 at 10:47 am #

      Thanks for joining, Celine!

  10. Marian Sarad November 4, 2010 at 6:25 pm #

    I want to win in Okasaneko Chronicles 3rd Blog Birthday Giveaway.

    Belated Happy happy Birthday to Alphonse and to your Blog, too… Looking forward for more inspirational Blogs to come!!!

    More Power…

    • Kittymama November 6, 2010 at 10:47 am #

      Thanks for joining, Marian! 🙂

  11. leira November 5, 2010 at 10:29 am #

    Happy Birthday Alphonse!!!“I want to win in Okasaneko Chronicles 3rd Blog Birthday Giveaway.”

  12. celine November 5, 2010 at 10:50 am #

    I want to win in Okasaneko Chronicles 3rd Blog Birthday Giveaway! 🙂

    Happy birthday to Alphonse! More power to you!

  13. cynch November 6, 2010 at 10:39 pm #

    I want to win in Okasaneko Chronicles 3rd Blog Birthday Giveaway!!!

    Woot woot…this is really is IT :D!!!

    Belated happy birthday Alphonse, be a good boy always. I love seeing your smile :). The pic of hibernating porkchop w/ pouty lips is the bestest ever :D!

    • Kittymama November 9, 2010 at 11:03 am #

      Thanks for joining, Cynch! And thanks for always thinking with kindness of my hibernating porkchop- slim na siya ngayon!

  14. bbqweasel November 7, 2010 at 1:17 pm #

    I want to win in Okasaneko Chronicles 3rd Blog Birthday Giveaway! (from Australia)

    http://bbqweasel.blogspot.com/2010/11/okasanekos-blog-giveaway.html

    • Kittymama November 9, 2010 at 11:05 am #

      You’ve got three chances to win! Thanks for joining!

  15. Vivian November 7, 2010 at 5:18 pm #

    I couldn’t help but shed a tear about your blog on Alphonse 🙂 You’re a great mom, Kittymama!

    Happy sweet sixteen to Alphonse!

    • Kittymama November 9, 2010 at 11:09 am #

      Thanks, Vivian. If am a good mother (and I really do hope I am), I think it’s because of the people who helped me become one- my parents,sisters, and brothers who provide me respite, and my husband who keeps me afloat at all times and loves me unconditionally, without reservations.

      Thanks for the birthday greetings for Alphonse. He loves to sit down with me and listen to the messages he gets on this blog. If he could speak, I’d sure he’d say “More!”

  16. Toukkero November 7, 2010 at 10:09 pm #

    Late gongratulations to Alphonse! 🙂

    I want to win in Okasaneko Chronicles 3rd Blog Birthday Giveaway!
    (Finland)

    • Kittymama November 9, 2010 at 11:10 am #

      Thanks for joining, Toukkero, and Alphonse says “thank you” too!

  17. Sheila L. Dingcong November 8, 2010 at 9:37 am #

    I want to win in Okasaneko Chronicles 3rd Blog Birthday Giveaway!

    I’m near tears after reading this blog. I know how it is with a special child in the family. Like Jas, I also have a nephew, Osel, who is autistic. I’ll share your blog with my sister.

    And I hope I’ll win. 🙂 I’ll share a blog on a recent experience with Osel.

    Sheila

    • Kittymama November 9, 2010 at 11:11 am #

      Hi, Shiela! Thank you for finding your way to my blog. Hugs to Osel and thank you for joining!

  18. tanya ortha November 8, 2010 at 1:58 pm #

    What a way to celebrate a back-to-back birthday! Congratulations, sis!

    Btw, I am so touched by what you wrote: “There were many days of pain and heartache, and of grief and despair, but for each one of those miserable days, our lives were blessed a millionfold by what we have learned living with and loving him. Alphonse has taught us patience and tolerance, forgiveness and acceptance, gratitude and surrender. Most of all, he has taught us how to love without hope or thought of reciprocity. We love him because we do, and not because of anything he does to make us love him. ”

    Ah, and yes, I’m joining the bandwagon—I want to win in Okasaneko Chronicles’ 3rd blog Birthday Giveaway 🙂

    • Auden Montenegro November 8, 2010 at 11:59 pm #

      Hi Pinky! Hello from Singapore!

      Happy Birthday to Alphonse! Siyempre, I want to win in Okasaneko Chronicles’ 3rd Blog Birthday Giveaway!!!

      Be happy always! 🙂 Ingat!

      • Kittymama November 9, 2010 at 11:14 am #

        Hi, Auden! Thanks for joining and for wishing the birthday boy well. He’s been rather sad lately, and when we asked him why, he nodded yes to “Is it because its not your birthday anymore?” We had to reassure him that just because his birthday’s over doesn’t mean he can’t have any more fun. I think his birthday has got him spoiled, heehee. 🙂

    • Kittymama November 10, 2010 at 12:51 pm #

      Thanks for joining, Tanya! 🙂

  19. theratpack360 November 8, 2010 at 10:29 pm #

    Happy Birthday from the US, Alphonse! 🙂

    I hope his day was wonderful, Pinky! Soon enough, he’ll be 20!

    Oh yes…and I want to win in Okasaneko Chronicles’ 3rd blog Birthday Giveaway! LOL

    http://www.facebook.com/home.php?ref=home#!/profile.php?id=1007388665

    • Kittymama November 9, 2010 at 11:18 am #

      We had a great week, really, with all sorts of activities till his birthday came. He loved being the center of attention. 🙂 But I still can’t get over 16 so I don’t think I’ll be ready when he turns 20!

      You’ve got two entries; thanks for joining!

      • Beverly November 9, 2010 at 11:29 am #

        I want to win in Okasaneko Chronicles’ 3rd blog Birthday Giveaway! P.S. Looking forward to winning anything Sylvanian 🙂

        Alphonse is such a great young man! Very best wishes for many, many more happy birthdays, Alphonse 🙂 Hugs to Alphonse, Pinky and to everyone in their lives.

  20. Kittymama November 9, 2010 at 12:50 pm #

    Thanks for joining, Beverly! And thank you for the birthday greetings for my “baby.” 🙂

  21. Moodswings November 9, 2010 at 7:21 pm #

    I want to win in Okasaneko Chronicles 3rd Blog Birthday Giveaway.
    Belated Happy Birthday to Alphonse! Atchi, we’re looking forward to meet him and Alex in our next SF eb! =)

    • Kittymama November 10, 2010 at 12:51 pm #

      Shobe, long time no “hear!” Thanks for joining! Hugs!

  22. Eric November 9, 2010 at 8:19 pm #

    I guess I will join too. Thanks for being such a special person to your family and all of us too, Pinky.

    I want to win in Okasaneko Chronicles 3rd Blog Birthday Giveaway!

    • Kittymama November 10, 2010 at 12:52 pm #

      Thanks for joining, Eric, and thank you for the friendship! 🙂 Blessings to you and your family always!

  23. Ansku November 11, 2010 at 2:02 am #

    I want to win in Okasaneko Chronicles 3rd Blog Birthday Giveaway! 🙂

    Happy birthday! 🙂

    • Kittymama November 11, 2010 at 4:05 pm #

      Thanks for joining, Ansku!

  24. Glenn November 11, 2010 at 4:06 pm #

    Hi Kittymama, I would like to wish Alphonse a happy, happy birthday and I can truly say that he sure is lucky and blessed to have a wonderful and loving mother like you.

    My sister is such a big fan of yours and she always reads your Sylvanian Families blog updates since she too is an avid collector of SF figures 🙂

    Is it okay if I join the contest?

    I want to win in Okasaneko Chronicles 3rd Blog Birthday Giveaway

    Thank you and more power to your blog Kittymama! 🙂

    • Kittymama November 11, 2010 at 5:50 pm #

      Thank you for joining! And thanks to you and your sister for following this blog. I’m happy to know many more people share the same interests as I do. 🙂

  25. Lore Lotte November 12, 2010 at 4:49 pm #

    I want to win in Okasaneko Chronicles 3rd Blog Birthday Giveaway.

    Happy Birthday to Alphonse and your blog from the Netherlands !

  26. Vivian November 13, 2010 at 1:11 am #

    I want to win in Okasaneko Chronicles 3rd Blog Birthday Giveaway.

    Yes, yes, yes! I really hope I win!

  27. Vivian November 13, 2010 at 1:20 am #

    I want to win in Okasaneko Chronicles 3rd Blog Birthday Giveaway.

    My blog post: http://vvaguilar.multiply.com/journal/item/62/I_want_to_win_in_Okasaneko_Chronicles_3rd_Blog_Birthday_Giveaway

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Want Prizes? « Okasaneko Chronicles - November 8, 2010

    […] Comments must be left on the blog entry “Now 16, Forever Sweet.”   […]

Leave a Reply

