Palate Pleasure and Penance Pressure

10 Nov

The other day’s fall (see yesterday’s post) reminded me how unfit I have become this past year. Walking, since the weather turned unpredictable and unruly, has become more difficult and thus, sporadic and inconsistent. I have not been given the go-signal by my doctors to indulge in more vigorous sports and aside from occasionally running after Alphonse, the escape artist, I am sorely in need of exercise. 

I’ve drastically reduced my diet to prepare for the coming holidays, forgoing dinners and cutting down on carbohydrates and fats, but sometimes, I can’t escape the lure of sinful pleasures like these. What are these? They’re Krispy Kreme’s original glazed doughnuts. Ohhhh. But see the one with the twist? See those yellow bits? Here’s what it looks like inside: burger patty, mustard, onions and all. (I took out the cheese to cut down on calories, heehee. As if it made a difference, ha!)

This is home made, thus the scrawny looking patty at all. It is definitely far from the original “Luther” burgers with bacon and cheese on top of a succulent, thick burger patty ( or patties) sandwiched between these delightul Krispy Kreme doughnut halves. It was just one of those days when I fell off the wagon of restraint and ended up not regretting it. At least not for a while. It was delicious! Nom nom nom nom nom 🙂

But please don’t show this to my Mom or she’ll kill me.

Unfortunately, I did end up having guilty nights over these sinful pleasures. Last night, I dragged A to the sporting goods store (here’s proof, for you unbelieving mothers out there)

and got him to get me this: Tadah!

We didn’t spring for the more expensive model. I wanted a basic magnetic bike with no frills and no fuss, and chose the least expensive model that felt good on my bum. A wanted to get me the whole works- cardio trainers, spinning bikes, treadmills and all- but I told him I wanted to make sure I’d be serious in keeping this up before we even considered blowing a major hole in the budget. For now, this bike will do. It’s functional, takes up little space, and doesn’t hurt my knees when I use it.

So, happy now, Mom?

5 Responses to “Palate Pleasure and Penance Pressure”

  1. cynch November 10, 2010 at 9:32 pm #

    oh my, makes me wanna try that donut burger too :D! good luck on your stationary bike ^_^!

    • Kittymama November 11, 2010 at 11:35 am #

      Thanks, Cynch! Just last night I was thinking of getting one of Burger King’s grilled patties and trying it out with Krispy Kreme, hehe, so I will definitely need more luck with the bike! 🙂

  2. Just A Friend November 11, 2010 at 11:32 am #

    Donut and burgers? Do they even taste good?

    • Kittymama November 11, 2010 at 11:35 am #

      Yes, they do! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. PonDeRing* a Mr. Donut Experience | Okasaneko Chronicles - April 30, 2013

    […] it be better than my homemade donut burgers? We’ll have to see, won’t […]

Leave a Reply

