Flair’s Red Deer Family

23 Nov

I promised Toukkero, my forum friend, that I will post pictures of the red deer family by Flair. I think she was surprised to find them as part of Flair’s lineup; honestly, so was I. I was prepared to shell out some money for Epoch JP figures but I was hoping to buy them sometime in the future when their prices had gone down a bit. Imagine my surprise when I found these beauties at Rustan’s Toy Department (first at Rustan’s Shangri-La and next at Rustan’s Glorietta 4) a week earlier than their release at Toys”R”Us Rockwell. A few days later, I found these lovely critters on my sick bed, a very thoughtful get-well-soon gift from my husband.

I am very appreciative of Ban Kee Trading’s efforts to bring different items to the Philippines. We may be a young market but we are a vigorous one. Of course, one can always pick up more Sylvanian Families in different parts of the world but having them here diminishes the stress of bringing home oversized, overweight luggage and packages. You know how Filipinos love balikbayan (literally translated as “return home”) boxes filled with presents for relatives and friends? Finding that many of the brands and services we love abroad are already here saves us not only worry, but time and lots of money as well.     

I was trying to compare these  JP and UK deer figures but it’s difficult to do so using stock pictures. My friend Toukkero has a JP set while I have the UK set so perhaps we can take similar views and compare them side-by-side in the forum. We’ll see. For now, here are some the pictures of the JP Red Deer family I found on the net from various sources,  with my own red deer UK figures’ pictures taken today.

 

 

I hope Toukkero can add more insights to this but as far as I can tell, the differences lie in their clothing. Also, Mother Deer has a cloth flower in her coat in the JP figure but the UK figure has a flower bead. Beyond that, they look pretty much the same to me. Even the babies are patterned after JP babies (one crawling/ one sleeping) and not the usual Flair twins that sit and crawl. All in all, the differences seem minuscule and not enough cause to own two sets of the deer from different SF manufacturers. But I’m not making a promise!

2 Responses to “Flair’s Red Deer Family”

  1. Toukkero November 23, 2010 at 4:55 pm #

    Thank you Okasaneko for the great review! It really seems the biggest difference between the sets are the dresses of mother and sister. Father and brother all pretty much the same.

    The twinset does not looks so bad for a oupenmouthed one. I think this could be my first sleeping baby I want to buy. The baby is also really cute! I think I will buy her too 🙂 I just have to wait when they will appear to other locations of the world too 😀

    Thank you!!! 🙂

    (Btw, my Buckley mother has a beuatiful summerdress beneath that teachery-like coat. Check out if yours has too 🙂

    • Kittymama November 24, 2010 at 11:09 pm #

      To be honest, I like the sleeping babies. They look so innocent. Another cute sleeping baby is the whiskers cat baby.

      I’ll check the summer dress and if it’s anything like yours, I know it’ll be beautiful too! Thanks, Toukkero!

Leave a Reply

