First of the Season

With Christmas just eight days away, I feel the mounting pressure of finishing our family’s shopping list. This is the latest we have ever been in all of A and my years of shared holiday shopping and right now, I am feeling a little overwhelmed. There are last minute sales all over the city and all one needs is a little patience and lot of time to go through them. I have never been short on patience but it seems I am running out of time.

While I hyperventilate and deal with anxiety issues, who else would come to my rescue but my dear, sweet A? 

The other day, coming from a work meeting, he brought home two packages for me. First, he handed me my most recent package from BeHappy Malaysia. I was already feeling giddy; I had been waiting for that for a couple of weeks. And then he hands me an unexpected surprise and it was huge! It would be my first Christmas gift of the season and it was an absolute thrill to receive it from him. Then too, he was so excited to see me open the gift that I only had a few seconds to take pictures before we both started ripping the glossy wrapper.

I closed my eyes and held my breath… and voila!

I absolutely love it! 🙂

This is the new Sylvanian Families Beechwood Hall or what Epoch Euro still calls the City House with Lights. Updated with new, fresher colors, a landing for the second floor and a reversible play area in the ground floor, this new home is a major improvement over the old Willow Hall and addresses many of the problems the old home was well known for. The room sizes remain small as the overall size of the house remains the same, but the addition of the landing and reversible play area adds up to a better play experience. Moreover, the bonus sets that come with this package make it more pocket friendly. Some of the items included are not even sold in the country as individual sets. A similar gift set was sold in the United States a while back under the Calico Critters brand and carries most of the bonus items, but not all.

I’m setting this house up for the Christmas diorama I would like to build in the living room. I have enough different playsets to personalize this house, but I fear I will not have enough time to paper the rooms or make additional carpets. Still, I can imagine how the house will look when I add the Christmas tree and Santa Bear. Also, I have a miniature creche to add the real spirit of the season to this holiday home.

If you want to see upclose the bonus sets that came with this purchase, here is a closer look at the sticker prominently displayed in front of the box.   

And just in case you’re still curious what precious finds I got from BeHappy at a great discount, here they are too:

Which reminds me of this: A forum friend posted a curious question on the Sylvanian Families forum, “How do people react to your Sylvanian collection?” and this is what I posted:

I’ve never really been embarrassed about my SF collections. Perhaps it’s because people already know me as a crazy Hello Kitty lady and have grown to accept me as such; one more “craziness” won’t change their perception of me.

I am lucky that like some of you here, my husband supports my collection and buys them for me without hesitation (but always within reason). As a collector of 80’s Japanese robots and Transformers toys, he possesses the mindset of a fellow toy collector. On occasion, he lets me play with his toys and I let him play with mine. It’s a playful marriage all in all, haha.

There are those who do not understand, and they probably never will. There are some relatives who question the sanity of this midlifer. There are also those relatives who think money should be put on other things, like an Hermes bag or Tiffany jewelry. These, they say, have real worth and can be put back in the market without depreciation. But when I think about the reasons why I collect SFs, ultimately, my collection is only as valuable as the happiness I derive from it.

I have a running tally of how much my husband and I have spent since September 2009 for SFs alone and it’s a daunting figure. I acquired so many in so little time and I am extremely grateful that we are blessed with circumstances that allow for these. And knowing how much of my husband’s hard work and sacrifice bought me all these, the only opinion I value these days is his. 🙂

Thank you, honey, for making all my Christmas wishes come true. Your love is my most precious gift and I could never ask for more.

12 thoughts on “First of the Season

    • He got this at ToyTown Eastwoond but I’ve already seen this particularl set in both Toy Kingdom and TRU branches in major malls in the city. 🙂

  1. Wow! you are so lucky to have such a wonderful husband. I saw this on the shelves in Rockwell and Eastwood but had to forgo buying due to the expenses I accumulated ( and still have to accumulate) for presents this Christmas. I’m glad to see you have it and please, do share more pictures of you collection.

    PS. I was able to get the 2011 Sylvanian Families Calendar from TRU. Thanks so much for the heads up!

    • Thank you for dropping by! I’m so behind in the pictures department but that is one of my resolutions- to document my collection and organize it. 🙂 I would not have bought this for myself considering the many expenses of the season. I am really lucky to have a husband who does this for me, even without my asking.

      I’m glad you loved the calendar- it is beautiful, right?

      • Very! The calendar whetted my appetite for more Sylvanian. I also got a copy of the 2010 catalogue and based on that, I’ve created my very own Sylvanian families wishlist that I distributed to my family and friends..lol

        I’ve been following your blog for quite sometime and I must say I enjoy reading all your posts. They are very informative and your stories are heartwarming. Thanks so much for sharing them.

  2. OMG you are so lucky! you already have the beechwood hall! congratulations! 🙂 I do agree they have furnitures that won’t be released till next year. I didn’t buy the beechwood hall for myself this Christmas, coz I had my eyes set on completing the rainbow nursery set and primrose park 😀

    You know most of my friends would react admirably about my SF collection some of them actually help me in finding rare pieces, and some just don’t get it . For me it’s like a girl thing, you don’t really have to ask the “why?” coz it won’t get you anywhere .

    One time though I felt embarassed when one of my officemates told me they saw me at Toy’s r us shopping for SF lol. I guess I just didn’t expect I’d be caught in the act of being a kid again (not that there’s anything wrong about it). lol maybe the reason I was imbarassed it was because this officemate of mine is like one of the supervisors on the floor [eep!]

Leave a comment