A Sylvanian Royal Wedding

27 Jan

As much as I try to impose self-control and discipline to control my burgeoning Sylvanian collection, some Sylvanians are simply too beautiful to pass up.  I’ve been trying to rein in my spending impulses, preferring to concentrate on specific lines in the product. Fortunately, Ban Kee, the country’s local distributor, has slowed down the release of new products since the holidays, giving my wallet some time to breathe and generate some money luck. And while online shopping has beckoned and tempted me a few times in the last month, there has never been anything that called out to me as strongly before.  At least not until this one.

These are the times when my restraint wears off; these things are simply irresistable. I’ve never been big on the wedding themed sets; after all, how many times can a Sylvanian get married? (There is no divorce in Kitty Little Lanes, aha!) But this one gets me- Sylvanian Families with a bit of history, the Royal Wedding of Prince William and Ms. Kate Middleton – and I am absolutely hooked. You can find the whole video here. The pictures below are screencaps from the same video, where Sylvanian Families appear at 2:16.

The Celebration Wedding Pack comes with the groom, William, and his bride, Catherine. The Reverend Kelvin Waters ( a beaver Vicar, repeat that again and again)  officiates the ceremony, witnessed by bridesmaids Amelia and Louise and page boy (or groom’s man) James. Together, this six-figure limited edition gift set will be released this year, as a commemorative souvenir of the Royal Wedding in April. This will certainly receive good market feedback as everyone loves weddings, Royal Weddings most of all!

The bride and groom underwent a fashion makeover to match the elegance of the occasion. The previously released wedding sets had the groom in a baby blue tuxedo reminiscent of Elvis fashions so more serious looking clothes had to be designed to suit the solemnity and high stature of the wedding. Even the page looks so dashing in his dark bluecoat. 🙂

I’ve a few items on my list already- the ambulance, the paramedic (notice how I love medical-themed sets?)- but this one will have to go right on top. Please, please, Ban Kee, bring this for me?

7 Responses to “A Sylvanian Royal Wedding”

  1. Anonymous January 27, 2011 at 2:21 pm #

    Ang ganda! I like these too!

    • Kittymama January 27, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

      Yes, they are really beautiful. The fact that they’ve got a better marketing hook (imagine! a royal wedding!) than most toys is an added bonus. 🙂

  2. Candy January 27, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

    Ohhh me wanna! 🙂

    • Kittymama January 27, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

      Me too! Me too!

  3. Toukkero January 27, 2011 at 4:29 pm #

    WOW! Where did you find these pictues? The set looks amazing! I have wanted a pries figure for so long and this one looks soo good!!!
    I can’t wait! Maybe they will release new wedding accessorie sets too!

    Thank you okasaneko for this information!!!

    • Kittymama January 27, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

      I think this is one of the most interesting sets I’ve come across in months. The other Celebration packs were rehashed or re-released figures from previous times, but this is a unique and eclectic mix of figures. And I love the priest too! 🙂

  4. P-Angel January 27, 2011 at 6:19 pm #

    *Dribble* want 😦

Leave a Reply

