Spring Cleaning (Or Getting Off My Big Butt)

6 Apr

I like the sassy title of this post. I even like the way it looks in bold black letters. It seems to convey a stronger message for me- it’s time, my heart tells me, to get back to living again.

I woke up this morning happy and grateful. Not even Alphonse’s unruly push to get out of his face bothered me. I drew my happiness from the few minutes I had with him before complete wakefulness dawned on his consciousness. Then, half-asleep and still a bit groggy, he welcomed my kisses with a smile. He giggled softly as I kissed his nape, the line of hair on his neck still as soft as when he was a baby. I inhaled his scent deeply; the mixture of man-child and baby smells playing on his hair was a heady combination of innocence and youth. And then he opened his eyes and saw me, and the smile turned suddenly into a frown as he pushed me away for the nth time in so many days. “I’ll have your smiles again,” I promised myself, as my heart fluttered ever so slightly with fear and pain. And then, just like that, the fear vanished and I knew that one day soon, I will have his love again. I’m not giving up. Ever.

It sometimes feel like I am forever on a roller coaster, as the highs and lows of my life bring me to unexplainable heights of euphoria and depths of despair. But alas, such is life, forever random and unpredictable, save for the merciful grace of that Someone who watches over us. I am not a brave person by any definition and oftentimes I am weak and fearful, but it is His Love that saves me each and every time from being devoured by my own fears and worries.

I got quite a lot done today. I made homemade burgers for today and some extras for future consumption. I already baked some potatoes with cheese and chives for the boys’ lunch. The repairs on some of our broken furniture have been done and I was able to finish cleaning them today. I was able to update my digital picture albums, uploading most of what was on our cameras so A can start storing them in CDs. And I’ve finally started tackling my oversized collections, having decided a few days ago to let go of many of my things to make room. The Sylvanian Families get to stay. They will get their own room soon as I promised Alex to finally clear his room of all my toys and junk. There’s a lot of spring cleaning going on in this house.

I do have some more Sylvanian Families tucked away somewhere, still in the bags they came from. With all that was going on before, it didn’t seem possible to even have an hour to safely keep them away. The dioramas I had were all broken in the rampages and I need to make new ones to show off the new arrivals, but for now, these pictures will do as documentation. (Sorry for the mess in the background of the photos. I just threw the stuff on the bed and started clicking away.)

New Buildings

Babblebrook Grange

Sycamore Cottage

Country Market

Beauty Salon with Antonio Patches, hairdresser

Playsets

Sylvanian sisters with furniture (part of low cost sets)

School Music Lessons and School Dinners Sets with JP School Music Set/School Dinner Set/School Nurse Set (figures not included)

The New Arrival/ Bathtime for Baby/ Birthday Party/ Bikes & Picnic Set

Juice Bar (double)/ Grocery Shopping/ Village Gift Shop/ Dress Shop with furniture: Sweets Dreams Bed and School Toilet (double)

Hotel Butler and Maid Sets

Grandfather and Grandmother At Home Sets with Clothesline Set/ Microwave Cupboard Set/Nursery Uniforms

Baby Carry Cases (12)

Figures/ Family Sets

Silk Cat Family with twins and single baby

25th Anniversary JP Figures/ World Parade Figures

Meerkat Family/West Highland Terrier Family/ Field Mouse Family/ Honey Bear Family

Red Panda Family

I have the afternoon to finish up some more chores. And then there’s always tomorrow if I don’t get everything done. This time away from Alphonse, albeit forced, will never be time squandered, I’ll make sure of that. We have paid much too dearly for this time in tears.

6 Responses to “Spring Cleaning (Or Getting Off My Big Butt)”

  1. Zoe April 6, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

    Hi Kittymama!I would just like to know where you can find beauty salon and meerkat family.I’m also a collector in the Philippines.But my collection is still small. Thanks :]

  2. John Lenard Cruz April 6, 2011 at 2:30 pm #

    Where do you buy the BEAUTY SALON?

  3. Kittymama April 6, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

    Hi, John and Zoe. I got the salon and the meerkat family from Takashimaya in Singapore. These new arrivals are combined purchases from local stores and from the stores I visited when I last went to Singapore.

  4. Leira Pagaspas April 6, 2011 at 5:40 pm #

    i love your collection! keep it up mare good for the soul din yung you collect something you feel good about

    • Kittymama April 7, 2011 at 10:36 am #

      Thanks, Leirs. It was a toss up between HK and SFs and right now, I think I can live without some of the Kitties but the SFs stay. 🙂

  5. Zoe April 8, 2011 at 6:47 pm #

    Hi kittymama! Thanks!I hope I can visit singapore to go to that store :\ Your collection is just divine :]Keep going until you have the biggest collection 😀 As we say in the Philippines- Ingat!

Leave a Reply

