Reflection

26 Jul

The days run on one after the other in our household, each one almost the same as the last. Days of tedium and monotony, days that would drive many men to tears from boredom, are periods of welcome bliss for us. We have had much too much unpredictability in the last six months, what we crave most is peace. By  God’s mercy, it has finally come.

I can hear Alphonse running downstairs, his shouts echoing throughout the house. And yet, they are no longer shouts of anger and despair, of fear and anxiety; these days, he shouts in glee, his squeals and laughter music to our ears. He has been angry and afraid for far too long that the sounds of his laughter now make us weep with joy.  These days, everything is wondrous to him, it seems, as he savors with delight the pleasures denied him all these months.

And me, I am braver. Stronger. Whole. My heart no longer lurches inside my chest in constant dread. My hands no longer shake in trepidation. For the first time in a long time, I am quiet and still, the nagging voices inside my head gone silent.  I no longer ask; I listen.

Thank you, Lord, for the wonders of Your mercy.

10 Responses to “Reflection”

  1. Leira July 26, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

    Im so happy for you Mare!!!!! The storn has passed and the peace is there at last.. Praying for you always

    • Kittymama August 3, 2011 at 11:26 am #

      Thank you, Leirs! You and your family are in my prayers too. Hugs to Josh and Adee! 🙂

  2. geri July 26, 2011 at 8:09 pm #

    this is news I’ve been hoping would come to your home. the sweet price of not giving up. I am so happy for you.

    • Kittymama August 3, 2011 at 11:29 am #

      Thanks so much, Geri, for all the support. It has been a long struggle but we are glad to be here now. God is good. 🙂

  3. Lyra July 27, 2011 at 1:56 am #

    Great news kittymama. I’m very happy for Alphonse your family.

    • Kittymama August 3, 2011 at 11:30 am #

      Lyra, we would not have made it this far without your prayers and support. Thank you for honoring me with your friendship. 🙂

  4. georg July 28, 2011 at 10:39 am #

    It is so good to read this good news. The rainbow has finally appeared. Enjoy this blissful time!

    • Kittymama August 3, 2011 at 11:31 am #

      Thank you very much! Each day is truly a precious gift for us. Wishing you the same always!

  5. bbqweasel July 31, 2011 at 12:02 am #

    I’m so happy that the storm has passed and now Alphonse is happy again. God is good. 🙂

    • Kittymama August 3, 2011 at 11:32 am #

      Indeed, He is.My thanks to you, dear Pei, for your constant support and prayers. You are one of our angels. 🙂

Leave a Reply

