HK x Watch = Timeless Cute Overload

5 Aug

My father gave me my very first watch in the second grade. It was gold, with a stretchy wrist band and a dark red face. It was aso one of the very first digital watches made, and in 1975, it was the coolest thing I owned.

It was this gift that heralded my love affair with watches. With the blossoming of my Sanrio addiction at around the same time, the Seikos, Oleg Cassinis, and Cartier watches soon gave way to funky Swatches and Sanrio timepieces. Because they were relatively inexpensive, I could indulge in my watch fantasies, changing colors and styles as often as I wanted.

It always pained me when my watches died, when no amount of TLC and service can revive them. I still keep them, though, the corpses of watches once loved piled in a box of old memories. Just recently, I had to say goodbye to a rather expensive Hello Kitty watch. A got me a replacement watch for everyday use- cheap, functional, and cute- but I still miss my watch. It served me faithfully for six years before the subzero temperatures of China did it in.

So now I am on the lookout for the perfect watch, and the search hasn’t been entirely painless. Although I still own a considerable collection of HK watches and still quite a few non-HK ones, nothing has ever come close to my old Hello Kitty watch. Just a few days ago, however, this caught my fancy:

Woohee!!! What a beauty!

I fell in love as soon as I laid my eyes on it. Jo, my Sanrio Surprises friend (she manages SS Megamall A) , even allowed me to try it on for a few seconds, just to see the fit on my wrist.

Perfect!

I would’ve shouted “Sold!”right then and there had A not been there. And then, I’d be in really big trouble because I saw this “trivial” detail last.

Gulp.

Jo says this is currently on sale, PhP27,000+, if I remember correctly. I laid the watch back on its case ever so gently, all desire and want doused in the cold waters of reality. If I win the lotto anytime soon, this will be mine, no second thoughts required. But until then, I comfort myself with the thought that for a few seconds at least, it looked really great on my wrist.

Drop by at Sanrio Surprises Megamall Building A to check it out! Go Go GO!

5 Responses to “HK x Watch = Timeless Cute Overload”

  1. Indiana Lori August 5, 2011 at 10:48 pm #

    I looked up our exchange rate…as we’d say here in the Midwest, “that’s pretty salty!”. It means it’s expensive! But oh so very pretty!

    • Kittymama August 8, 2011 at 3:29 pm #

      Salty indeed!-even at half price! (Thank you for teaching me a new word, Lori!)

  2. Anonymous August 6, 2011 at 11:25 am #

    Ooohlala, that is one expensive cat’s watch!

    • Kittymama August 8, 2011 at 3:31 pm #

      Who’d have thought a cat could get so expensive, right?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fat Cat « Okasaneko Chronicles - August 12, 2011

    […] dismissed it as such, until I read it and broke into loud guffaws. In response to the post Hello Kitty x Watch= Timeless Cute Overload and to this picture to your left in particular , someone identifying herself as Jenny […]

Leave a Reply

