My Favorite Things III: HK x Crocs

15 Aug

I got this short note a few days ago but I got sidestracked by the Fat Cat episode. I didn’t want to pass this up so here it is:

How many Kitty Crocs do you own? Which is your favorite?

~Curious Cat

***

Dear Curious Cat,

As you know, Crocs are among my favorite things in the world, Hello Kitty x Crocs doubly so. I own quite a number of non-HK Crocs but my most used pairs are still the ones that bear HK in their designs. They just sort of fit into my wardrobe, which is often Hello Kitty-inspired.

As far as I know, there have been four different Hello Kitty x Crocs collaborations in the last two years. I think I was able to get all adult HK Crocs releases, thanks to the generosity of my number one enabler, A. I’ll let the pictures do all the talking here, to show you.

The very first Hello Kitty Crocs were Caymans, released in mid-2009. They had two adult designs and two children’s designs. My first two pairs came from Crocs Malaysia. The next set came from Crocs Bonifacio High Street.

In the third quarter of 2010, HK x Crocs McCalls followed suit. These ballet slippers are made of Croslite all over and are super comfy. Crocs Philippines released only two colors in the lineup- black with a pink bow and white with a black bow. I found the red one on a trip abroad and on sale to boot! There’s a pink version also but I have yet to track one down. If I see it, I will definitely buy it. These are the easiest shoes to wear, even in the rainy season.

I found this picture online that shows all colors and styles.

Early this year, HK x Crocs Lily came out. These are also classic ballerina flats but made with a canvas body rather than Croslite. The HK print runs from toes to heels. You can still see the tags on these; I have not used mine because the upper material isn’t as easy to clean as Croslite. I am waiting for a perfectly sunny day to christen these pairs.

Just this month, these arrived in local stores. These Classic HK Flowers come in two designs for adults. The white and purple color scheme is reminiscent of the kids’ HK Caymans released in 2009. And lest I get some goodnatured ribbing from readers of this blog, yes, those are my ankles. No, I do not wear watches on my ankles. The pasty white legs with ginormous gastrocs are mine. At least they’re peklat-free, heehee.

And finally, to answer your last question, “which is my favorite?” The McCall flats in black get the most mileage these days as I have recently developed a liking for leggings and skinny (gasp!) jeans. However, when I think about the sentimental value attached to them, my favorite is easily the pair of white Crocs HK Caymans. This is the pair that is associated with one of my best memories, shown below: the fortuitous meeting and photo op with one of my idols, former Vice President of the US Al Gore. While all others were in uber-deadly heels, I carried my Crocs with panache and pride. Now who says Crocs aren’t fashionable?

Thanks for the wonderful question, Curious Cat! Till next time…

Mr Al Gore, flanked by A and me

4 Responses to “My Favorite Things III: HK x Crocs”

  1. Nancy August 15, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

    Oh I need to find the pink and red HK x Crocs McCalls too, I totally agree they are comfortable to wear even for a long walk 🙂

    • Kittymama August 16, 2011 at 12:27 pm #

      Hi, Nancy! Thank you for visiting again. I hope all is well with you and the kids.
      The pink ones are hardest to find, I think. But I am looking. Seems they were all over Asia except the Philippines. I wonder why is that…

  2. Indiana Lori August 15, 2011 at 10:46 pm #

    Sara just had to have the completely sequined Hello Kitty ballet flats for school. I warned her before she wore them to the Zoo, but she insisted. She is now wearing them with socks to ward against blisters. Little flats covered in sequins might not be so comfortable during a 4 hour trip to the Zoo on an 85 degree day!

    • Kittymama August 16, 2011 at 12:33 pm #

      Hi, Lori! I think Sara and I would get along perfectly fine. I’d wear some sequined Kitty shoes too, if I can find them, heehee. With socks, too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

