Boring is Good

1 Sep

I had a busy last two weeks, which was good because I got out of the house more frequently than I have of late. I’ve been feeling cooped up here at home after a cycle of nonstop ring-a-ring-o’-posies with the flu. The down side was that I got too busy to sit down and jot what’s been happening with me and the family. Between the chores still piled up here at home (when, oh, when will I ever finish?), the kids (and for all their size, they are still kids- big, messy ones at that), and the unexpected changes in all our schedules, squeezing in some computer time was next to impossible. You know when something happens and you instantly think, “Wait till till I post this in my blog”? Well, that happened more times than I can count and I never could follow through.

The good news is we’re all okay now. Things are often BORING here at home and I mean it in the best possible sense. After two weeks of whirlwind activities, including some days off in Singapore, boring is an absolutely welcome development for this family- no unexpected changes, no unpredictable shifts, no crazy tilts in our already rollercoaster lives. I am ready for some down time, baby!

I do have stories to tell you of things I’ve seen and done and places I’ve visited in the last two weeks. One of them, I hope, will become part of Alphonse’s new life soon- an absolute gem of a find in the middle of this crowded city, an oasis for children like him. I’m still working out the details, but I hope that Alphonse will be able to get out of the house more often from then on. Wish us luck, please! We’re going to need it.

In the meantime, I will be uploading new pictures and resizing them for use in the next few days’ posts. Thanks for staying tuned, my friends. Will be back again tomorrow!

~0~

My happiness thought of the day:

Happiness is…

a three year-old nephew who screams in delight at the sight of his beloved, albeit disabled, cousin.

“Oh my God! That’s Kuya Alphonse! That’s Kuya Alphonse! I can’t believe it!”

Joseph has not seen Kuya* Alphonse in months since Alphonse got sick. It was my decision to keep him away, mindful that Alphonse may accidentally hurt him; he is so small and delicate still. But he never fails to ask about Alphonse in phone calls, and whenever someone asks him who he loves, he always says “Kuya Alphonse” without hesitation. Their happy reunion last Monday happened at my dad’s 70th birthday dinner.

Love is contagious, but so are fear and prejudice. I am grateful that my brothers and sisters love Alphonse so much that they passed on this same love for Alphonse to their children. Joseph knows Kuya Alphonse is different. Kuya sometimes tramples him underfoot, accidentally. Kuya sometimes refuses to share his bubbles. But Joseph understands, even at a young age, and adores Alphonse without fear, without revulsion, without judgment.

“It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye.”~Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

Wish we could just all love one another this way.

*(Big Brother)

4 Responses to “Boring is Good”

  1. Jasmine N. Ong September 1, 2011 at 5:01 pm #

    Okay, you just made me cry. Big time.

    Hmph!

    • Kittymama September 2, 2011 at 1:19 pm #

      Hmph back, sister!

  2. Indiana Lori September 1, 2011 at 10:51 pm #

    Last night my 4 year old said of her cousin Avery, “Avery never says a bad thing or a bad word. She is SO CLASSY.” There is an accepting love between cousins that is almost magical. I grew up with 10 at my feet, so I know of this love…it’s so special. I keep very close tabs on my cousin with severe mental illness, and I love him like a brother. I wish good health for him, and I keep his spirit with me, even though circumstance keeps us connected only by phone. I’m so glad Alphonse has a little sprite to love him so!

    • Kittymama September 2, 2011 at 1:18 pm #

      I wish I could have recorded on video his reaction to Alphonse’s arrival- it was so heartwarming to see this little fellow react that way to his cousin’s presence. 🙂

      Yes, cousins are a special lot. I grew up with many close ones in my mother’s side of the family. I am blessed that my own siblings have shown love by example, and our children are as close as we are. Kelly and Sara are indeed lucky, to be loved and to love their cousins with full acceptance. Here’s to family!

Leave a Reply

