Eye Candy

6 Sep

Vain, I am not. I’ve never been overly concerned with my looks. Knowing that I was not and would never ever be considered a drop-dead gorgeous girl of the crush-ng-bayan material has eased the pressures of vanity off of me. I like who I am, period.

Still, it doesn’t hurt to always present your best side to the world. A friend once told me that one should always learn to work with what one has, and this includes even aspects of physical beauty. I’ve taken her advice to heart; she is, after all, one of the drop-dead gorgeous women I have ever known (hi, B!). And while she has not gone as far as mentoring me on the fine arts of beauty, she has inspired me to dress better and look better always.

I am not a beauty blogger and would never pretend to be one, but I do like some products more than others. At my age, I have found out what works best for me and they sure beat any cosmetic procedure in the market. I do have to confess to some guilty pleasures I do not bandy about in pride. One is that I really, really like beauty blogs. Hehehe 🙂

Another is that I am crazy over mascara.

So crazy I have hoarded them… (I buy whenever and wherever I find them.)

Well, this specific brand anyway: the  Hello Kitty x Maybelline Volum’Express HyperCurl Cat Eyes Mascara Whew! That was a mouthful! 🙂

And who can blame me? While eyelash length may be determined by a dominant allele, I was unlucky enough to receive both recessive genes for this specific phenotype expression.(Alert, nerd talking!) As such, I don’t have obvious eyelashes. Boo.

I have contemplated on eyelash extensions for years but was always too chicken to try them out. Aside from the expense, I was scared of losing whatever little eyelash hair I already have, after hearing serious reports on the consequences of eyelash extensions. Good thing I discovered the HK mascara last year because now, I have eyelashes- seriously visible ones!

Don’t believe me yet?

See the before picture. You can hardly see any hair there. 😦

And here comes after- see the difference? It does fatten up seemingly invisible lashes, yay!

I’m still working on perfecting my mascara techniques but I posted this so my friend J, who wants longer eyelashes, can see that she doesn’t have to go the route of permanent extensions to make her lashes longer. This specific brand and type is relatively inexpensive, around SGD 20 only (converted to roughly PhP700) but it is even cheaper here in Manila (PhP499). With these prices, I’d take a good mascara over extensions and falsies any day.

P.S. This also comes in a non- Hello Kitty version and works just as well. I’m just a sucker for great packaging and HK merchandising.

3 Responses to “Eye Candy”

  1. pinkitty September 6, 2011 at 2:10 pm #

    san nyo po yan nabili ms. pinky? 🙂

    • Kittymama September 7, 2011 at 11:16 am #

      Hi, pinkitty! You can try any Maybelline counter at any mall and they might have some stocks left. If you get lucky, sometimes, they’re on sale pa. I check every time I go toTrinoma or SM North Edsa. 🙂

  2. Anonymous September 7, 2011 at 1:51 pm #

    Brown eyes, eh?

Leave a Reply

