Weekend Update

23 Sep

I can’t believe I forgot to update again! Groan. *bangs head on desk*

It’s been a busy week, one of the busiest I’ve had in recent memory. There were just so many things to do every day that sometimes, in the middle of the long afternoon. I’d find myself dozing on my feet, drooling like a rabid dog. It’s not a pretty sight, I tell you, but it’s happened more times than I care to count this last week.

Household chores already take up too much time, but with my parents’ recent move out of the suburbs, I had to clean up to make room for some of their larger pieces (like an eight-seater dining room set and coming soon, a huge glass chandelier). I also had a couple of writing assignments that needed to be done and while I met my deadline (whew!), it wasn’t without the worry that I will be late in submitting articles. In between the craziness of everyday life, we saw an impressive concert at Resorts World Manila last Friday night. In The CompanY of Side A featured two of the best vocal groups/bands in the country- The CompanY and Side A. It was a sold-out concert and appreciative fans roared and hooted to excellent music all night long.

The CompanY + Side A = Huge Success

The CompanY in perfect harmony

Got to love Joey G!

There was also a hastily planned meet-up with a Sylvanian friend, Madame C, last Saturday. We had been talking about meeting for a month now but our schedules never seemed to jibe. Besides, she and I live on opposite ends of the city making coordination virtually impossible. Saturday, after Alphonse’s aquatherapy lesson, we headed out to see her. I was so thrilled to meet Madame C and her lovely family that A♥ and I didn’t even mind the drive through two hours of traffic just to make the meeting possible. I purchased some lovely creations from her collection of Sylvanian fashions and for her gracious charm and the instant camaraderie we forged, she gets a post all by herself sometime in the very near future.

The highlight of the week, however, was A♥’s and yours truly’s 20th anniversary which we celebrated Tuesday. I was sorely tempted to run off with A♥ to somewhere remote where chores and deadlines would not hound me but A♥’s better judgment prevailed. I was feeling stressed that day, conscious of every second I had before the deadline, so I woke up at five in the morning to write. Before I knew it, it was time to drop off Alex at school. Then it was off to the market to buy seafood, have them cooked, and serve them for lunch. I had a few hours to bathe, dry my hair, and catch a quick 30-minute snooze before we left to watch the American Idol 2011 Tour. While we waited for the concert to start, I rewrote my article in longhand and downed a cup of coffee to keep awake. The AI concert would not have been my idea of a perfect date. I would have wanted a more quiet, more relaxing, less noisy way to end the night but I’m glad A♥ forced me to go. I really had a lot of fun.

S-C-O-T-T-Y!!!

Yes, we were that close! 🙂

So now, it’s Friday and I wonder where the week has gone. I have pictures to resize and upload, Sylvanians to unbox, Transformers to box and catalogue. I have plants to water and replant in larger pots. The chores never stop. Life does not stop.

And for all these, I am deeply grateful to the Lord. Every second, every breath, is a gift.

One Response to “Weekend Update”

  1. Madame C December 18, 2011 at 4:46 pm #

    How ever did I miss this? Thanks Pinky. I’m glad that we met.

Leave a Reply

