Hello Kitty Finds a Home in Sylvania

25 Oct

I’ve been a Hello Kitty collector as far back as I can remember. In 1976, when Sanrio found its way to Manila, I was among the very first to own their little knick-knacks and stationery sets. As I grew older, my collections also evolved with me, changing themes as I changed with the times. Now that I am much, much, much older, I have reduced the excess in my collection significantly, preferring function over cuteness, usability over kawaiiness.

Or so I like to think.😀

With the fulfillment of my Sylvanian fantasies, I find my attention more and more focused on these inch-high critters. But I am loath to part with Hello Kitty; after all, she has been part of my life for so long. So, what better way to merge both my interests than to look for Sylvanian-sized Kitties?

The figures came at a time when I hadn’t even started looking. I have to credit my friend Allen for showing me that Sylvanian-sized Kitties even existed. After a while, though, I would find one pop unexpectedly here and there at the most opportune times. It almost felt like the universe was sending them to me.

The furniture, however, were harder to find. It actually took a while to find even a single boxed furniture, but eventually, I managed to round up a sizeable collection. It was down to the house, and this, it seemed, was an impossiblity… that is, until I met Madame C.

It was serendipitous, the way things fell into place. At the time the furnitures were pouring in, Madame C, a Sylvanian fashion and shoe designer, was on the lookout for better real estate investment. The old Hello Kitty Little Berry house she owned was getting too small for her home business, and the fixer-upper did not exactly inspire her creativity. When an Oakwood Manor opened up in the market, she decided to sell her old property- to Kittymama, who else!

And so it came to pass that Hello Kitty, Dear Daniel, Kittymama and the kitty twins finally found a home.

Warning: picture heavy!

This is the Hello Kitty Little Berry House, released in 2002/2003 by Bandai. Due to age, this Victorian-style house has color spots and dicolorations. Despite its age and long history (this was a played-with, pre-loved house, even before it came into Madame C’s possession), it was in good condition. The plastic was neither brittle nor warped, and the hinges of the doors and windows all worked.

Brand new and boxed, it would have looked like this:

Inside view:

It even came without stairs!

The house will need some repairs before it becomes habitable but I set up some matching Hello Kitty Little Berry furniture just to show off the layout of this two-storey home.

Bed (it lights up!) and vanity/ side table with pink telephone

Bathtub and toilet sets (flushing and water sounds still work)

Kitchen (with water sounds too) with ref/china cabinet/four-seater dining set

Another view of the kitchen (see Alex perfectly framed by the window with the missing shutters)

Living room that’s still lacking chairs (ordered but not yet arrived)- with a working fireplace and television console

Garden set with plants and lamp post

Some baby furniture

The house,as I mentioned earlier, will need some repairs and restoration. The second floor balcony door is missing its railings and the window lacks window guards.

Then too, I have half a mind to recolor the whole thing and wash out the pink plasticky wall colors. Some white or gray slate, perhaps? I am still researching on colors most in used for houses in the Victorian era but if you have suggestions, please let me know.🙂

A ground floor window was also missing one of its shutters so I took the other one out. Maybe a nice mock stained window using inkjet-friendly plastic acetate would be nice.

More lucky finds along the way have convinced me that this house was meant to be mine. First, I found the missing set of stairs! (See picture with television set.) Finally, Hello Kitty would no longer need to pull herself up by a rope to reach the second floor.

Second, who whould have thought this stray lighting actually belonged here?

Or that this odd shaped figure belonged to the front step of the house?

This hanging wall sign was also an accidental find, in one of the Sylvanian lots I purchased online. Talk about lucky!

I have a few more furniture sets coming in from Japan, courtesy of my friend Veronica. These are boxed and complete, so what the older furniture lacks, I’d be able to fill in with the new sets.

I never really thought Hello Kitty would find her own place in Sylvania. I am happy she has her own home at last. Sylvanian Families and Hello Kitty – what a perfect combination!

~0~

Update: More Hello Kitty Little Berry furniture arrived in November 2011.🙂

22 Responses to “Hello Kitty Finds a Home in Sylvania”

  1. Toukkero October 25, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

    That house is absolutely gorgeous! I love all those details, it’s even more detailet than sylvanian furniture are! WOW! I wouldn’t paint the house – It really looks like it should be pink outside.

    • Kittymama October 26, 2011 at 8:31 am #

      Thank you, Toukkero! My husband was of the same mind- to keep the colors, just retouch or wash it up a bit to restore it to its old glory. Yes, what is a hello kitty house if it isn’t pink?

  2. bckawaii October 25, 2011 at 6:22 pm #

    omg…hk house is so lovely and elegant….i love the bedroom and bathroom set… (=^_^=)

    • Kittymama October 26, 2011 at 8:29 am #

      Thank you, sis Analyn! For old toys, I was amazed that they were in good working condition- the lights and sound effects still work! My favorite piece would have to be the refrigerator- it’s a double door one, and it has magnets (stickers) much like a real one!🙂 Next tme, I’ll take photos of the individual pieces.

  3. MadameC October 25, 2011 at 6:40 pm #

    I am blown away! Yes, this house is meant for you. Imagine you have those odd pieces just perfect for the house. I never knew HK furniture is so gorgeous. I love the detail and color of the pieces. And you have the stairs!

    Golly, we are truly united by these lovely critters. Congratulations to a beautiful home! It’s Sylvanian coziness fits perfectly.

    • Kittymama October 26, 2011 at 8:27 am #

      There’s something to be said for collecting odd pieces, Madame C. Sometimes, I feel like a scavenger because I don’t throw out things just in case I find use for them, and it turns out in this case that I did! Those were odd but truly lucky finds.

      My gracious thanks, my dear, for bequeathing this lovely house to me. It will always remind me of how our friendship started and bloomed.🙂 Hugs!

  4. Cha October 25, 2011 at 8:23 pm #

    WOW! The house and furnitures are really very nice🙂

    • Kittymama October 26, 2011 at 8:25 am #

      Thank you, Cha! They are. I never expected them to be really cute for old pieces but they are amazingly intricate, much like the real Sylvanian Families.🙂

  5. bbqweasel October 26, 2011 at 4:18 pm #

    The house is great! The Hello Kitty furniture is really cute, and the style fits into the Sylvanian world really well. I think that you should give the white bits a coat of paint so it’s not so yellowy. I agree with the others that the original pink does look pretty good, but a bit of weathering or something may help it look less plasticky? Or maybe a coat of pink paint to keep the colour, but make the house not have that ‘translucent made of plastic’ look?

    Pink victorian house: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Pink_lady_in_eureka.jpg

    Old victorian house colours: http://oldhousecolors.com/

  6. Panda October 26, 2011 at 9:22 pm #

    It’s beautiful😉 Brings a tear to my eye!

  7. Janice October 28, 2011 at 3:46 pm #

    Lovely!🙂

    • Kittymama October 29, 2011 at 11:24 am #

      Thanks, Janice! I’d have to find some time to work on this soon- it’s too lovely to leave in a box! Thanks for dropping by!

  8. cynch October 29, 2011 at 5:20 pm #

    WOW! I super likey the Hello Kitty little Berry house with matching Hello Kitty little Berry furnitures ^_^!!! Sooo exciting…can’t wait for the White family to move in with matching pictures ^_^! The furnitures look so dainty and I can just imagine the twins running up and down the stairs you found ^_^! Were you sooo lucky to find the stairs that belonged to the house…or was it one of your spare stuff waiting to find its purpose ^_^?

    Please do update us on the next phase ^_^!

    • cynch October 29, 2011 at 5:29 pm #

      and may i add….the touch of Alex perfectly framed at the window is really ingenious and hilarious hahahaha :D!!! i remember you mentioned his room is your SF haven ^_^

  9. Sheena November 1, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

    Hi there,

    Where to get this set? I’m a Hello Kitty collector too!

    Please email me at sheenaisme@hotmail.com

    • Kittymama November 3, 2011 at 9:39 am #

      These are no longer on sale so you would have to look for them on eBay or if you get lucky, in stores of pre-loved toys. I haven’t seen much in circulation since I started looking so when I see one, I buy it as soon as I can. Sorry I can’t be much more help.

  10. Nancy November 3, 2011 at 6:53 am #

    I envy your HK house, Mare. It’s so lovely to look at.

    • Kittymama November 3, 2011 at 9:40 am #

      Thanks, Mare! How goes your Hello Kitty collecting out there? have you met up with other Junkies yet?

  11. Anonymous September 27, 2012 at 9:52 pm #

    Grabe, ang ganda!

    • Kittymama October 2, 2012 at 1:57 pm #

      Salamat po!

  12. Carla September 29, 2013 at 2:54 am #

    Hi there – I am looking at purchasing one of these houses and was not sure if my Sylvanians would fit – feel alot happer now. I love the furniture as well. This helps me – thanks alot.

    • Kittymama September 30, 2013 at 12:11 pm #

      You’re welcome, Carla!🙂 Sylvanians are a perfect fit for the HK Berry house and furnitures so I’m sure they’ll feel right at home.🙂

Leave a Reply

