Wendy’s Darlings

5 Nov

(Or How the Furbank Squirrel Kids Found Their Way Home)

On October 28, I received a special notice from the Philippine Postal Corporation. A package had arrived for me and it had come all the way from the United States. A♥ picked it up for me on his lunch break and handed it to me when he came home that night.

Excited, I sliced the packing tape with ginger hands, all the while giggling happily to myself.

This was my first purchase from Wendy of Sylvanian-Families.net, and I hope it would not be my last. She has all these lovely figures coming in all price ranges so there is literally something for everybody!

And just as soon as the package was opened, these lovely critters jumped out of the box! Aren’t they the cutest? I call them Wendy’s Darlings. (Get it? Wendy Darling, from Peter Pan?)

I’ve been searching for good-condition Furbank squirrels for a while now. I had the brother figure before but Alphonse bit off the tail before I could stop him. He seems to like squirrels too. So, when I saw them at Wendy’s online store front, my heart leapt for joy. They call it “lukso ng dugo” in Filipino (literally “leap of blood”), as in when one recognizes kin. And in a sense, it felt just like that.

Now, if I were happy, try to imagine how their family reunion turned out to be…

~0~

“Are they here yet, Mama? I can’t see them!”

Mama and Papa craned their heads to look at two small figures in the distance.

“Here we are, Mama! Papa, can you hear us? We’re home!”

Director’s note: Music swells. Wide panoramic shot to highlight the distance between them.

It has been a long time. Much too long… And the burdens of time and space seemed to grow smaller by the second.

Oh, Mama, I missed you so much!” Greta cries as she embraces her mother tight.

“You don’t know how long we waited, my darling,” Mama Emma whispers in her daughter’s ear. “But we prayed… and we prayed…and we never lost hope you and your brother would come home again.”

And they all lived happily ever after.

The Furbanks Family, complete (and then some) at last!

Thanks, Wendy!

The Furbanks family are all JP figures of varying years, the father and son in black checkered overalls date from 1990-1999, while mother, brother and sister (both in green) are later versions.

10 Responses to “Wendy’s Darlings”

  1. Kate Dante November 5, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

    I like reunion-stories 🙂 So lovely!

    • Kittymama November 10, 2011 at 5:23 pm #

      Thank you, Bogi! Reunions are so touching, aren’t they? I am completing my families through Wendy’s site and I am thrilled to find lots of fairly priced items! Happy happy!

  2. Cha November 5, 2011 at 3:38 pm #

    nice story…. 🙂

    • Kittymama November 10, 2011 at 5:25 pm #

      Thank you, Cha! Setting them up for photos is just as fun as collecting them! 🙂

  3. christina November 6, 2011 at 8:29 am #

    Hi Pinky

    What a lovely story,thank you so much for sharing it with us.:) Where did you get your background from?

    • Kittymama November 8, 2011 at 2:36 pm #

      The background is just an old Canon calendar, Christina, but the pictures are so lovely I could not bear to throw it out. Thanks for liking the story, Christina! 🙂

  4. Jennifer Rydell@Plushpussycat November 6, 2011 at 12:14 pm #

    Really cute! 🙂

    • Kittymama November 8, 2011 at 2:32 pm #

      Thank you! 🙂

  5. Janice November 7, 2011 at 9:52 pm #

    I really love when you stated “lukso ng dugo”… that made me smile 🙂

    • Kittymama November 8, 2011 at 2:32 pm #

      Thanks, Janice! 🙂

Leave a Reply

