Reform the Entertainment

24 Feb

For Ara Kaye Feliciano

I was introduced to the world of miniatures when I started collecting Sylvanian Families in 2009. It wasn’t easy finding them in the country and what few stores carried miniatures had them in limited quantities and different scales then. These days, with Re-Ment finally making its way into the local scene, miniature collecting has suddenly acquired a whole new different market.

My real introduction to Re-Ment came by way of my Hello Kitty Junkie friends. They were the ones who showed me these collectible plastic toys. As far as sets go, I have Hello Kitty x Re-Ment sets and one of Little Twin Stars. I’ve also purchased Little Sweets Cake Shop and Tsukiji Sushi Meguri food sets and of all the non-Sanrio rement sets, I find that these two fit the Sylvanian scale best.

I’ll show you pictures of what I have first, and then try to come up with scenes showing at least one set. That way, this’ll give you an idea of what sets work best for Sylvanians, Barbie dolls, or other miniatures. For sizing, you can refer to this recommended site as reference: Mini-sizer

Here are some of my Re-Ment collections in boxes still:

The Re-Ment x Hello Kitty Meals “Ouchi Gohan” (left) and Stationery Sets (right)

Bread Bakery (left) and I Love Cooking Set (right)

Sushi Restaurant (top) and Hannari Sweets Shop (bottom)

Little Twins Stars Welcome Party

Little Sweets Cake Shop and Tsukiji Sushi Meguri

As much as Re-Ment are such fun sets to collect and play with, not all of them work with the 1/16 to 1/18 scale of  Sylvanian Families products. Buying complete sets, unless you collect them separately from your Sylvanian Families collections, may give you odd pieces that may be too big for your critters.

I have samples here of how Re-Ment can fit (or not) in your Sylvanian dioramas. As you can see, the utensils here are a bit gargantuan for Freya. Even Mama Chocolate was a little taken aback at the size of her daughter’s fork, teehee!

The bottle is only a little oversized but if you consider how big 2L bottles are, then this would only be a little off scale.

Again, the spoon is almost half Kitty’s size and will probably not fit into her mouth. Oops, I forgot! Hello Kitty has no mouth! (How does she eat? By osmosis?)

Same problem with utensil and juice bottle. The plate is too big for one person so we can all pretend it’s a serving platter.

And who wouldn’t want a bento box as big as this? I know I didn’t complain when my mom sent me to school with above-average portions for my healthy appetite!

Ooh, I love this! The tea looks almost real. And I am a sucker for crepes, waffles, and pancakes, whatever this is.

Rather big portions for individual eating but it looks yummy!

Birthday cake! Birthday cake! I’d trade a fork for a shovel anytime for this cake. 🙂

Since I’ve unboxed them, I have to organize them in small organizer boxes (available at Saizen/Japan Home) to make clean-up easy. It’s easy to lose small bits and pieces too so organizing makes it easier to spot any missing pieces.

I don’t have pictures of all the Re-Ment x Hello Kitty sets that I have but I do hope to do more scenes with them in the future. The local stores do not carry HK Re-Ment sets yet but they do have a large assortment available in toy stores these days. It’ll be worth the time to do some research before you purchase some for your Sylvanian Families, but even if they don’t fit all the time, I’m sure you’ll have fun with them anyway.

For Re-Ment in the Philippines, please visit their Facebook page: Re-Ment Philippines. Right now, Re-Ment sets are on sale (10% off) until the end of the month so check them out!

7 Responses to “Reform the Entertainment”

  1. Just A Friend February 24, 2012 at 4:21 pm #

    They are cute! I wonder why they (Re-ment Phil) don’t sell the HK sets though. 🙂

  2. Panda March 2, 2012 at 8:50 pm #

    I wish Re-ment sets were widely available here. So cute! 🙂

    • Kittymama March 3, 2012 at 11:37 am #

      It’s strange that they’ve actually found their way to Manila, considering they’re disappearin in some markets, but we’re also glad they are here. If there’s anything you’re looking for, just tell me, okay, Panda! 🙂 I’d be more than happy to look for them for you. Hugs and kisses!

  3. helloARAkitty March 13, 2012 at 10:51 pm #

    Thank you so much ate P for dedicating this post to me. I am flattered *__*

    and i am drooooooling on the kitty cake! haha.

    • Kittymama March 15, 2012 at 11:12 am #

      You’re welcome, Ara! I’m just glad you like it. 🙂 Good luck on your collecting!

  4. Svetlanna Cagasca (@svetlannac) April 18, 2013 at 12:14 am #

    Woow! Those are cute! Saan niyo po nabili yung HK Re-Ments niyo?

    • Kittymama April 18, 2013 at 11:13 am #

      I got them from a friend who buys them in Japan for me. Almost all of my Hello Kitty re-ments are from her. 🙂

Leave a Reply

