Swinging By Singapore

5 Mar

I was in Singapore a few weeks back, on the weekend after Valentine’s Day. The trip was a gift from A♥ because he knew I had been dying to watch Wicked at the Marina Bay Sands Grand Theater. As early as January, my friend Auden, who is a lawyer based in Singapore, had purchased tickets on our behalf, and on the date we planned, she, A♥, and I met up to watch the show together! It was absolutely marvelous! If they ever bring Wicked to Manila, I will definitely watch it again!

With Auden at the theater lobby

Grandmother Mabel and Grandfather Mack got in for free- in my bag!

At the same time, on this trip, I had thought this the perfect opportunity to meet with some friends I had made over at the international Sylvanian Families Runboard forum. Jonathan and Hai Yen are both collectors too. Jonathan, for one, has been collecting for 13 years- and he is only 18! He knows so much that I run to him for advice or information. I am grateful that he has often generously provided help for newbies like me. I  kid him with the title of Professor of Sylvanian Studies and were a degree like that possible in real life, I am betting he already has a PhD.🙂

Hai Yen, on the other hand, has been collecting nearly as long as I have. She is a proud mom to a young daughter and a teacher to fourth grade students. She shared her stories of how she and her daughter would often share playtime with their Sylvanians. Sigh. I wished for a daughter just then.

Kittymama with Hai Yen (tomoe) and Jonathan (Rockie)

I enjoyed the afternoon with them, talking, looking at Sylvanian stuff together, even doing a bit of shopping (Hai Yen spotted the lone set of Whiskers grandparents available at Takashimaya- yay!). We were also fortunate to get a table at the newly opened French boulangerie called Paul Bakery and Cafe in Ngee Ann City, beside Kinokuniya, (the queue was uber long), where we spent an hour talking- what else?- Sylvanian! It’s so easy to feel comfortable with people who share the same interests that I feel like I’ve known them both forever.

Thank you for the wonderful afternoon, Hai Yen and Jonathan! I hope you had as good a time as I did.🙂 I hope to see you again when I come back for a visit!

I did go Sylvanian shopping but there were hardly any sale items left that time of the year so my pickings were measly and few (measly and few by my OC standards, that is, haha). Still, I found some treasured gems during those few days and while I have yet to document them, I wanted to show you a sample picture of one of my purchases.

I’ve been holding off buying this Waltzing Figures set for the longest time but I could not resist it anymore. Grace and Kelly have been previously released in the Ballroom set so I figured this was just another repeating set of figures. But the ballgown and the twirling base got to me and I found myself clutching at the box without thinking.

I haven’t opened it yet, unfortunately. With all the chores and the excitement over the last few weeks of the PH♥SF Photo Contest, all my purchases remain in boxes still. Hopefully, with the contest finally over, I can take some time to unwind, relax, and play again.

Hére’s hoping!

3 Responses to “Swinging By Singapore”

  1. Just A Friend March 7, 2012 at 10:02 am #

    More Sylvanian friends, Kittymama? I am so happy for you!🙂

  2. Kittymama March 12, 2012 at 1:37 pm #

    Thank you, Just A Friend! It’s an honor to be able to meet these absolutely wonderful persons. I wish I could travel the world to see all of them, and who knows? Dreams can come true!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Happiness is…Turning Wicked (xix) | Okasaneko Chronicles - January 24, 2014

    […] to Singapore. My friend Auden purchased the show tickets on our behalf, and on February 2012, Auden, A♥ and I watched Wicked at the Marina Bay Sands Grand Theater. It was absolutely […]

Leave a Reply

