Happiness is…(x)

17 Apr

the pretty little things in life we love! 

And when I say pretty little things, I mean just that! Not only are they terribly little, they are also absolutely pretty! What am I talking about? What else, but Sylvanian Families ceramics!

I’ve been on the lookout for these miniatures since I started collecting Sylvanian Families 2009. In the beginning, I acquired ceramic bathtubs and toilets in such quick succession that it prompted me to do research on their history. I was pleasantly surprised to find that the toy line did not stop at  ceramic bathroom furnishings, but they also came out with miniature ceramic dishes, cups, and pots. They’re quite difficult to find locally, but I have managed to secure some from different sources, both local and international, over the last few years. They are some of the most prized possessions in my collection.

This china cabinet comes with five miniature ceramic plates. Released in 1985, this Victorian-inspired dish display unit belongs to the Japanese line.

This set of ceramic plates and kettles was released at the same time, and comes in a velvet-lined box. Although the box has seen better days, all of the ceramics are in mint condition.

Aside from these releases (and I am sure there are others I have yet to find), Sylvanian Families ceramics were also available in gashapons or capsule toys in 2006. Nowadays, these are quite hard to find and only available in eBay.

The ones in front came from a set of six gashaphons.

Then, add the lone plate or cup or kettle or pot I’ve collected thtough accidental finds in lots of old Sylvanians, and I have a nice little stash of ceramic collectibles already.

The details in these little ceramic dishes are so cute that it’s impossible not to fall in love with them. The designs appear to have been imprinted by some sort of metallic paint that resist chipping and fading at the edges. They are more likely to break than fade. When you consider the size of these things and what went into their production, you have to be amazed at the skill with which these were cast and made.

From plate

to cup

to saucer

and even a tea kettle,

each one is a wonderful piece of miniature art. They’re worthy additions to any miniature collection but most especially, to a Sylvanian Families collection. And though I don’t play with them as often as I do my plastic sets, I do love to look at them and pore over their designs.

You really can find happiness even in the littlest things.🙂

Happy Sylvanian Day, folks!

5 Responses to “Happiness is…(x)”

  1. Panda April 19, 2012 at 11:12 pm #

    I love the ceramics too! I found the cabinet at a local carboot, but didn’t have any ceramics, so I filled it with some doll’s house ceramics and they fit in it wonderfully!

  2. moodswings April 27, 2012 at 1:19 pm #

    Very nice collection atchi!

    • Kittymama April 30, 2012 at 2:39 pm #

      Thank you, dear Joanne!🙂 Regards to your Mama!

  3. Excellence collection of these delicate items – absolutely lovely to behold
    I tried eBay UK twice but unsuccessful in my bids
    Will look out for them again🙂

    Thanks for sharing them

    • Kittymama May 22, 2012 at 3:10 pm #

      Thank you! I’m also trying to seacrh eBay for more of these porcelain and china, so I wish us both luck!

Leave a Reply

