Turning Point

8 May

It’s official: I am no longer the healthiest fat person I know. Boo. I guess you can finally say my weight has finally caught up with me. Double Boo.

I didn’t want to tell anyone about it yet, at least, until I had myself checked out, but for the last three weeks, I’ve been physically miserable. I’ve never been hypertensive before (except during pregnancy) but three weeks ago, I woke up dizzy and nauseated. My blood pressure fluctuated erratically, zooming to all new highs. Then too. I’ve been battling on and off neck stiffness and pain, which may or may not be related to my cervical disc herniation, but which also affects my blood pressure, no doubt.

I definitely got scared that morning. The feeling that I would drop dead (or become incapacitated) at any time was so heavy, so imminent, so dreaded, that I realized I could no longer play this loaded game. I made an appointment with A♥’s cardiologist for the earliest date he could see me  and last week, he put me on a low dose antihypertensive while I get my act together. This morning I got all my baseline labs done. I have changed my diet drastically, and last weekend, A♥ and I enrolled in a gym.

It’ll take time to make the changes permanent, and even longer time to change my mindset on the experience of food, hunger, and cravings. But as a daughter of a seven-time stroke survivor, I really should know better. So today, the changes must start; there can be no more excuses if I want to live for A♥ and our kids.

Well, here goes! Wish me luck on my journey!

8 Responses to “Turning Point”

  1. Panda May 8, 2012 at 4:04 pm #

    Good luck, Kitty! I’m hoping to lose weight too to keep me healthy. We can do it together. It’s certainly hard at the beginning, but once the healthy eating becomes routine, you’ll find you don’t miss eating certain things. I haven’t had chocolate for over a month now, and we were best friends!

    I could do with joining a gym, but I’m seeing if I can keep doing a 30 min jog three times a week first ^_^

    • Kittymama May 11, 2012 at 10:12 am #

      And you have that special thing coming up… woohoo! I am missing chocolate too but if you can do it, then so can I! Thanks for the encouragement, sweetie!

  2. Indiana Lori May 9, 2012 at 9:56 am #

    Hang in there! The little changes go a long way. Even just committing to breaking a sweat once per day or once every other day makes a world of difference. Rooting for you all the way!

    • Kittymama May 11, 2012 at 10:09 am #

      Thanks, Lori. I’m beginning to realize jusy how hard it is to get in shape and well again- whew! I appreciate the encouragement a lot, thank you!

  3. runningonhealthy May 12, 2012 at 3:51 am #

    P, my mom used to be the healthiest person I know. When she had a heart attack almost 10 years ago she was even a little underweight. Her mistake was she ignored signs that told her she should go see a doctor. Although she has recovered now she is suffering from the side affects of all the meds she has to take. So you see, it’s not only the overweight people who needs to take care of their health, it is everybody. And the difficulties you are experiencing now to live a healthier lifestyle is nothing compared to when you are already sick. Everyday I am working on living a healthier lifestyle too, everyday is not a perfect, but it is always better than the alternative. You can do it!

    • Kittymama May 15, 2012 at 11:26 am #

      Thank you so much! I appreciate that nugget of wisdom. I’ve been putting off seeing the doctor but I am glad I finally did. I would like to work through this with as little medication as possible so I hope that by turning my diet and lifestyle around, I can make more positive changes for me and for my family. I am grateful for the encouragement- many thanks!

  4. leira May 12, 2012 at 4:01 am #

    Goodluck!!! kaya yan!!! i’m in the same boat too..

    • Kittymama May 15, 2012 at 11:24 am #

      Thank you, Leirs!🙂

Leave a Reply

