A Sylvanian Project for A♥

16 May

Us, 21 years ago

Last week, I thought of a gift to make for A♥ just in time for Mothers’ Day last Sunday. You see, on Mothers’ Day every year, as well as on all other special occasions of our lives including his birthday, A♥ never fails to give me presents. In more than 20 years of marriage, I have always been on the receiving end of his thoughtfulness and generosity.

I’ve never been able to quite measure up when it comes to giftgiving or reciprocate in a manner equal to or more than he has ever shown me his love, but he has never complained. Not once. So last week, inspired by a burst of creativity, I thought of a project to give to him on Mothers’ Day. I wanted him to have a gift that reminded him of me always- his crazy, spoiled, always-loved wife. And it had to be something I could make, not bought.

Guess what I did? I made… Okay, okay, okay, I am getting ahead of myself. Forgive me if I’m too excited for my own good. I guess I better start from the beginning.

Project: My Sylvanian Golfer

Inspiration: Golf! Well, A♥ learned to play golf because of work, and he has grown to love it. In fact, one of my earliest Sylvanian set-ups was inspired by his interest in the sport. This was before I was able to acquire Grandpa Roland Tailbury and his miniature golf set.🙂

Materials:

  • a display case (I used the leftover plastic container from the Hello Kitty Diamond perfume- recycling always makes me feel creative, teehee)
  • measuring tape (for measuring, duh!)
  • green felt cloth
  • printed golf course background, measured to size
  • self-adhesive laminating film
  • glue gun
  • glue stick
  • miniature foliage
  • inkjet-friendly acetate
  • Sylvanian Families Grandpa Roland and selected pieces from his golf set (an extra set)

Procedure:

I printed two copies of a golf course background, measured according to the size of my container. I laminated the background using self-adhesive laminating film, setting the two pictures back to back with a glue stick. I cut the pictures to the size required by my container.

Using the bottom of the container, I traced the base and cut a round piece of felt to use as my golf course grass.

I attached the felt base to the removable bottom of the container. I also attached the background to the cylinder top.

To add interest, I added foliage using a glue gun. Then, I set the figure and selected accessories.

I cut a piece of green felt to wrap around the base of the diorama. This is what it looked like before I covered it.

And this is what the finished project looked like. To personalize it, I added a dedication (To A♥, My Favorite Golfer) using inkjet-friendly acetate and sealed the diorama shut. Easy peasy!

I gave the diorama to A♥ and he has brought it yesterday to his office for display. My gift may seem trivial compared to all he has ever given me, but I know he knows it comes with a lot of love and heart.

I ♥ you always, A♥! I hope you really like it.🙂 And I hope you all did too! Happy Wednesday!

~0~

Update:

(photo from A♥, sent in at 5:40 pm via iMessage)

He loves it! Success!

A place of honor on his desk🙂

11 Responses to “A Sylvanian Project for A♥”

  1. leira May 16, 2012 at 2:51 pm #

    great Job!!! i’m sure that A loves it.. kasi gawa mo yun work of your hands and a gift from your heart

  2. bbqweasel May 16, 2012 at 10:09 pm #

    You did a wonderful job. I’m sure A loves it, especially since it was made with love.

    • Kittymama May 17, 2012 at 12:17 pm #

      Thanks, Pei!🙂 I was just thrilled that he displayed it on his office desk.🙂

  3. Panda May 17, 2012 at 6:30 pm #

    ;______; Awwwwww that’s so adorable!

    • Kittymama May 22, 2012 at 3:06 pm #

      Thank you, Panda! I’m glad you like it!🙂

  4. cha May 18, 2012 at 4:15 pm #

    It’s really very nice sis🙂 Good job🙂 … Luv your photo 21 yrs ago, both of you were very cute🙂

    • Kittymama May 22, 2012 at 3:07 pm #

      Cha, we ooked so dorky back then, haha!🙂 Thanks for liking the project!🙂

  5. Lily Powell May 30, 2012 at 1:44 am #

    Wow, so cute! And what a brilliant idea😉

    • Kittymama June 13, 2012 at 4:01 pm #

      Thank you, Lily!🙂

  6. Karenf06 July 20, 2012 at 4:42 pm #

    Wow…. Excellent!! Love it much. Wanna to make one too….😀

    • Kittymama July 26, 2012 at 8:24 pm #

      Thank you, Karen!

Leave a Reply

