I. O. U.

13 Jun

Yups, you’re absolutely correct! I do owe you stories from the past few weeks, stories that have been set aside for a day like this- when both boys are busy in school (Alphonse’s “school” is just next door, heehee!) and I have the house, the bedroom, and the PC all to myself! As much as I miss the continuous chatter of loud, rowdy boys, sometimes, I do need a few hours of peace and quiet every now and then.

So, what got me all busy these past few weeks? Well, A♥ went to London for a week on business in May and, I tell you, his absence was terribly hard on all of us. Alphonse waited forlornly at the end of each day for his dad’s car to come in the garage and when it didn’t come, would go to bed sad and quiet. Those nights, not only was sleep elusive, he woke up a couple of times in the middle of the night to check his dad’s side of the bed. And as much as he loves and adores his big brother, I think he was disappointed to find his big brother by his side. He wasn’t able to sleep after those middle-of-the-night awakenings, which meant we all could not sleep either.

Alex was on the last few days of summer classes that week. I think he did marvelously well trying to step in his dad’s shoes for Alphonse and keeping me sane. And me, well, obviously, I was an emotional wreck. I didn’t sleep or eat well, and by the end of the week, I was flat-out plain exhausted, physically and emotionally. It was a really good thing that A♥ didn’t stay longer than a week, else, I’d have driven Alex mad as well. (Heehee!)

The only good thing that came out of  A♥’s trip was his visit to the Sylvanian Families Shop in Mountgrove Road, London. Despite the almost 18 hours he spent on the plane to London, A♥’s first stop, after dropping off his bags at the hotel, was this store. It wasn’t an easy trip to make, considering it was around an hour by train from where A♥ was billeted in central London.  When I think about what he endured (the jet lag, the long lines at NAIA and Heathrow, the walking, the train ride) just to get me pictures of one of my dream destinations, I am overwhelmed by his generous spirit and his dedication to me.

The Sylvanian Families Store in London (store front under renovation that day)

A♥ met, in person, SSK manager Ben Miller (aka Rocky Babblebrook) and of course, he just had to have his picture taken with Ben (this was also one of the things I asked for).  So even if A♥  has always been camera shy and isn’t exactly the type to take pictures of himself, he just had to do it for me! When he sent me a copy over iMessage, I was thrilled!

A♥with Ben Miller

He saved more pictures of the store so I can see for myself what I missed. I was just too glad to have the pictures that I didn’t feel too bad anymore about being left behind. More pictures below!!! (Wait! I had to wipe some drool off my mouth first!)

So many things to buy…

So many things to see…

Every corner is crammed with the most awesome stuff!

And yet, strangely, it feels a lot like home… (my home looks a lot like a store, haha!)

That barn will be mine someday….

And I hope that beige car goes on sale too (the same way they lopped off £5 off the burgundy car!)

I asked  A♥ if he visited and took pictures of tourist sites London is famous for- Big Ben, the Tower of London, Tate Modern (which was just a stone’s throw from his hotel)- and my husband quickly said “NO.” When I asked why, he replied,”Because I didn’t want to see any of them without you.” Now you see why I absolutely love this guy! He says the nicest things always!🙂

Of course, the trip would not be complete without souvenirs, and of that, he got a lot of English souvenirs… of the Sylvanian persuasion, hehehe.

So now you know one of the reasons I’ve been away a bit… I’ve been playing! I would like to extend my thanks to Mr. Ben Miller of SSK for the warm welcome he and his staff gave my husband. I hope to make your acquaintance in person someday, Rocky!

And of course, my deepest, sincerest thanks go to my husband for the many ways he shows me he loves me, even after almost 21 years of marriage.

And to you, the occasional reader who drops by and visits even when nothing is going on in this blog, my thanks for your patience and kindness always. I apologize for my absence and hope I can get back to regular programming soon.

Till tomorrow then!

9 Responses to “I. O. U.”

  1. Anonymous June 28, 2012 at 11:51 am #

    Lucky A! And lucky you with all your presents! *envious*

    • Kittymama July 3, 2012 at 11:15 am #

      Thank you, Anonymous! And thanks for dropping by my blog again!

  2. Panda June 28, 2012 at 6:35 pm #

    Love all your Sylvanian photos😀

    • Kittymama July 3, 2012 at 11:14 am #

      Thank you, dear Panda! Those pictures would have been lots nicer if we were both in them, heehee!

  3. BugzySUPeRhappy July 1, 2012 at 1:53 am #

    you have the sweetest husband ever! you are one lucky lady (but you already knew that!

    • Kittymama July 3, 2012 at 11:14 am #

      Thank you, Bugzy! He really is my biggest blessing!🙂

  4. Mona July 11, 2012 at 6:42 am #

    OMG! He must have been all “kuba” with little critters in his luggage! Ah, tunay na amore nga naman …

    • Kittymama July 26, 2012 at 8:27 pm #

      Haha! May the anode last a lifetime and longer!

  5. Vanessa October 31, 2012 at 4:29 pm #

    The most beautiful place on Earth is in London!

Leave a Reply

