Raining Sprinkle Tinkles!

3 Jul

At 2:40 in the morning (yes, I looked), I was awakened by what I thought was the roof leaking on my head. I jumped out of bed,  my face and hair already wet, and shone a light on the roof directly above my head. It was not leaking. A split second later, I realized what it was when the stream of water got stronger, as if in rhythm to the rains pouring outside. It was Alphonse. And he was fast asleep.

Can’t imagine what it looked like? Let me give you a “picture” to work on inside your head:

You know how when it happens to babies, parents drop a nappy on their little boys to stop the tinkling? Well that was what I did! Only a nappy wouldn’t have cut it. I used my blanket.

At three in the morning. Alphonse was still fast asleep (thank God for little mercies!) and I was hauling two wet blankets, two wet pillows, a soaking wet comforter, and wet clothes to the bathroom. I shampooed really, really fast, and then tied my hair in a tight, wet bun. And then I went back to bed, only slightly smelly, heehee.

And when it rains on your parade, look up rather than down. Without the rain, there would be no rainbow.

(Gilbert K. Chesterton)

2 Responses to “Raining Sprinkle Tinkles!”

  1. adicayaban July 3, 2012 at 3:36 pm #

    I admire the way you’re able to put humor in every situation.

    • Kittymama July 6, 2012 at 9:50 am #

      Thanks, Adi! We’ve learned not to sweat the small stuff and focus only on the big things, and even then, humor helps defuse a lot of tense situations when they happen.🙂

Leave a Reply

