“Anak sa Labas”*

1 Aug

Last night, after an animated discussion on illicit relationships, “other” women, and illegitimate children (must be because Cinema One has been running “No Other Woman” continuously these past few days), I posed a thoughtful question to my eldest son, who was quietly listening in on his dad’s and my conversation.

Anak, how would you feel if you find out you Papa has an “anak sa labas*?” I asked.

Before Alex could even speak a word, A♥ quickly interjected, “Talaga namang meron, ha!”

Huh? What the…

For a split second, I swear II could not breathe and my throat seized up. And then Alphonse’s loud squeals saved me from a heart attack. Oo nga naman, may anak siya sa labas. Alphonse was outside, playing.🙂 Whew!

~0~

*Anak sa Labas,” translated literally to mean “child on the outside,” is a Filipino figure of speech used to refer to a child born of parents who are not married to each other.

4 Responses to ““Anak sa Labas”*”

  1. leira pagaspas August 2, 2012 at 10:12 pm #

    i love A’s quick reply..what did Alex say?

    • Kittymama August 3, 2012 at 12:22 pm #

      Oh, Alex is very confident it will never happen. Makes me think I should have more faith in the obvious and not ask too many questions, haha!

  2. Anonymous August 4, 2012 at 10:53 am #

    Hahaha! Your husband got one over you.🙂

    • Kittymama August 13, 2012 at 4:12 pm #

      I know! He loves it when he gets to do it, heehee!

Leave a Reply

