The Gift Gate Big Sale 2012

25 Aug

Up till last night, I wasn’t really sure I’d be able to make it to today’s much-awaited event.  When my friends Gracie and Cynch sent me text messages last night to arrange our date, I couldn’t even give a firm answer. This, after we had planned more than a month ago, to meet up there. Bad, I know.😦

Then again, things that were happening just seemed to be out of my control. Our family car had been in the shop for more than a week and the service vehicle that was generously lent to us was being pulled out. Also, Alex had Saturday class, which meant he had to be in school earlier than usual if I wanted to make it early halfway across the city. I crossed my fingers and conditioned myself mentally to accept the possibility that I was missing one of the biggest sales of the season.

And then, at the last moment, everything just worked out perfectly. We got another service unit on loan! (Thank you, Toyota!) And Alex, good old Alex, said he didn’t mind going to school early. Woohoo! :-)

And so, at half past seven this morning, we found ourselves at Bonifacio Global City two and a half hours early for The Gift Gate Big Sale! Talk about excited!

There’s never been a sale like this before, at least not in the history of Gift Gate and Sanrio in the Philippines. Sanrio products have always carried high price tags and this has been its weakness in the frustrating fight against pirated Hello Kitty and other pseudo-Sanrio products. And with times being hard, even those who love Hello Kitty (like me!) have had to go on Kitty rehab for the sake of their financial (and mental) health.

To be fair, Gift Gate Philippines has done much to make the products affordable to many. They’ve introduced tie-ups with local manufacturers. They’ve brought in imported items from lower price ranges to entice more shoppers. They’ve also held a series of special events where items can be purchased at a discount. Today’s sale, however, was the biggest one yet, and it promised a wide variety of products all in one roof. Prices would be significantly slashed on many items and even regular and new products get a 30% discount. It was an event that no sane Kittyholic would dare miss!

Here are pictures from today’s event. If some pictures are blurry, please forgive my camera techniques. I was shooting (pics) and grabbing, shooting and scampering, shooting and shopping, heehee.

At 9 in the morning (we took breakfast at a nearby cafe first), there were people already in line. As soon as I stepped in line, some kind Gift Gate people said hello and welcomed me personally.  One thing I could always commend about Gift Gate is that its people always, always make sure you feel like you are special (even if you are really not, heehee). It’s great customer service, I tell you.

A sneak peek before the venue was opened to the public. I called it “the calm before the storm, este, the crowds.”

And then the shopping began! There were people everywhere! The airconditioning, which was operating well in the beginning, was overwhelmed by the sheer volume of people. And even when people were sweating buckets, no one seemed to mind. They were all busy… shopping!

Is this a Crocs sale? Am I in a Create-your-own Havianas event?  Ooops, my mistake! This is the area where Hello Kitty flipflops went for as low as PhP50 a pair! Goodness!

Pillows galore! I wish I had grabbed more!

Because we came early, we were able to take advantage of the sale. I had hoped to sweet talk A♥ into buying me more HK luggage but alas, mine are still almost brand new. Maybe next year then.  After letting me go crazy, he took my purchases and lined up for me. He was in a hurry to leave because Alex was going to be fetched at noon. Also, we were almost out of money, heehee.

Here is Kittymama with friends Cynch and Gracie. Are those tears of joy running down Kittymama’s cheeks? (Actually, it was sweat, haha!)

My favorite family- Gracie with her husband and kids and Cynch!

And of course, what is shopping without the haul? I got a lovely tarpaulin ecoback, an umbrella, a pillow (why, oh why, didn’t I get more?), an eyeglass case (thanks, Cynch, for sharing this with me), file folders, an earphone winder, and a necklace. My bestest buy was the HK golf bag rain cover! Woohoo!

P.S. I didn’t take pictures of the rest of my loot because they were meant to be gifts for special people. I didn’t want to ruin the surprise.🙂

Did I tell you I didn’t forget my lovely nannies? I just wished they had bigger sizes. I couldn’t fit into them.😦 Still, I was happy I was able to bring home something for my girls here at home.

These are A♥’s favorite buys of the day- lightbulbs at 3 for PhP100! And because we really do patronize the brand, getting these at a bargain (he got a dozen) was his gift to himself.🙂

This is Kittymama pretending it was raining inside the bedroom and singing Rihanna’s “Umbrella.” ♪♫

(Ella ella, eh eh eh)
Under my umbrella
(Ella ella, eh eh eh)
Under my umbrella
(Ella ella, eh eh eh)
Under my umbrella
(Ella ella, eh eh eh, eh eh eh)

And then this is Kittymama, flat out tired from a whole morning’s adventure, and dreaming of Gift Gate’s Big Sale 2012.

Thank you, Gift Gate Philippines, for a wonderful day! I hope you make this a yearly event!🙂

6 Responses to “The Gift Gate Big Sale 2012”

  1. dianne abella August 26, 2012 at 12:49 am #

    So cute! I purchased the same umbrella and matching boots🙂 Hope to meet you soon with ate cynch and other fellow kitty lovers🙂 I enjoyed reading your post.🙂 Too bad I slept in late and didn’t hear my alarm😦 I wish they’d do this again next year🙂

    • Kittymama August 26, 2012 at 5:19 pm #

      Oh, I’ve got to see the boots! We’re they adult-sized? We should all get to meet each other, it would make shopping (at the next sale) even more fun, Dianne!

  2. KittyFanatic August 26, 2012 at 5:05 pm #

    Thanks for the great post! I made it to the sale too and it was just as you described- jampacked successful! I got the pillows as gifts for my inaanak, lolz. I’m with you in wishing for another sale.🙂

    • Kittymama August 26, 2012 at 5:19 pm #

      Crossing our fingers!

  3. Anonymous August 26, 2012 at 5:13 pm #

    I saw you with your husband but I was too shy to say hello. Sayang.

    • Kittymama August 26, 2012 at 5:20 pm #

      You should have! Next time, okay?

Leave a Reply

