Living with Boys

10 Oct

Back in the early days of my first pregnancy, this was my favorite commercial on television. A♥ and I always wanted a little girl. We both wished for someone cuddly and cute and … just all girl. And this roller baby (which was the coolest thing back then, or so we thought) was part of that dream.

BUT we got a boy.

Oh, please, don’t get me wrong. We love our boy! Alex was a beautiful baby! He was cuddly and cute and sweet… just not girl.

And so this dream went on the back burner, until the day the sonologist told us our second child would be a girl. *whoops for joy*

And then, the second baby turned out to be a boy again. No less cuddly or sweet. Still, not a girl.

This desire for a little girl invaded my boys’ infancy and toddlerhood, though I was sane enough to recognize that I couldn’t pull this particular stunt off longer than a couple of years: crossdressing.

Alex in a “Little House on the Prairie” look

Alphonse looking all girly in pink

After a while, they both realized that dressing up as girls was not fun (at least for them) and they both would say “NO!” emphatically, with an indignation that  only toddlers could muster so beautifully. I gave up then. If I had to live with three boys, the earlier I got used to it, the better for me. Pretty soon, I became an expert on The Power Rangers and Rourouni Kenshin, though I could barely pass Pokemon 101 (there are just so many of them!).

Now that both are almost grown men (Alex is 19 and Alphonse will be 18 next month), I’ve realized that I would not trade anything for all their years. Sons are sweet, and oftentimes, cuddly (unless they forget to bathe). They can be drama princes too! As such, our lives have never lacked for drama, color, or warmth.  And while they may never fit my idea of a “California Roller Baby,” now that they are older (and less cute and cuddly, but no less disarming), I think I can baptize them with new titles.

Alex (imperious and kinda bossy) and Alphonse (Sir Screams-a-Lot) – My Transformer Decepticons Megatron and Starscream.

 

5 Responses to “Living with Boys”

  1. NinJas! October 10, 2012 at 1:57 pm #

    awwwwwww i miss those cross-dressing babies! Please post pics of Alex as Pubert Addams😀

    • Kittymama October 12, 2012 at 2:42 pm #

      I miss them too!🙂 Babies grow up much too soon!

  2. Anonymous October 11, 2012 at 10:16 am #

    So cute!

    • Kittymama October 12, 2012 at 2:42 pm #

      Thank you!

  3. adicayaban October 25, 2012 at 12:42 pm #

    Ha ha ha. We were also pining for a girl. Then the ultrasound technician said “those are his balls!” Uh-oh. Tough luck for us😉

Leave a Reply

