Firework

24 Oct

I have a few things to say about this video (and link) that I am sharing today.

The first is that I will never ever be able to listen to the song “Firework” without crying again. This has got to be the best cover of this song, in my opinion. I like the slower tempo and I definitely like the harmony.

The second is that if this little girl isn’t proof enough that individuals with autism deserve their place in the sun, I don’t know what else will convince narrowminded folks of that. People who bandy around the terms “retard” or “autistic” as slurs to insult, humiliate, or make fun of someone else should realize that they demean individuals with intellectual disabilities. I’d like to see Ann Coulter say that to Jodi DiPiazzo’s face.

And the third is miracles do happen, though we often have to help them along. Jodi is an example of what love, faith, and an investment of time, money, and intervention can do for a child with autism.

My son Alphonse will never be a success story the way Jodi is, but that’s alright. Whatever else he may be in life, one thing is sure: he is irreplaceable in our lives and we will defend his right to exist and be who he is, without fear or shame.

You don’t have to feel like a waste of space

You’re original, cannot be replaced

4 Responses to “Firework”

  1. Just A Friend October 24, 2012 at 12:45 pm #

    Why did you make me cry?🙂

    • Kittymama October 28, 2012 at 2:17 am #

      It’s alright. I can’t stop crying either.

  2. adicayaban October 25, 2012 at 12:26 pm #

    Will definitely share on FB.

    • Kittymama October 28, 2012 at 2:17 am #

      Thank you, Adi!

Leave a Reply

