Sprains, Halloween, and Candy Mixes

6 Nov

I haven’t put down a Sylvanian story in ages in this blog and Halloween was a perfect time to do that. I had a few costumes that I had been meaning to use on my Sylvanian critters but with all that’s been going on in the house (lots of cleaning up, inventory, and just plain Life), I couldn’t find time to set things up and take photographs. That is, until this:

I twisted my foot around three weeks ago, while going down a flight of stairs. It swelled a bit in the next few days but ice and rest and elevation did a pretty good job of reducing the swelling. Unfortunately, even with the swelling gone, it hurt like &*%#$ when I walked on it. So it was wrapped up, taped pretty well to prevent twisting (which hurt more than just flexing and extending) and I was kept pretty much off my feet during that time.

The upside was that I got a little time to do this:

 

I realized how much I enjoy making my stories and I think come 2013, I will have to set more time for that. I have a few stories in my laptop right now, waiting for pictures, and most of them are about autism. If I can use what I love (Hello Kitty and Sylvanian Families) as a way to advocate for children with autism, I think that would qualify as a work of love. What do you think?

5 Responses to “Sprains, Halloween, and Candy Mixes”

  1. Anj November 6, 2012 at 7:12 pm #

    That would be way cool. 🙂 can you also work on something um..manly…so it would appeal to my 9 year old son with Asperger’s Sydnrome?🙂 love your blog! Btw, Jas was my classmate in College. I asked her to send our hugs to you and your son on his birthday. Hope you received all our good wishes!

  2. Indiana Lori November 7, 2012 at 11:09 am #

    Totally qualifies, and I’m a Hoosier, so I should know what constitutes “work”. We work in our sleep out here. We’re German…we can’t help it. Get better!!!

    • Kittymama November 19, 2012 at 10:56 am #

      Thank you, Lori! Hope you and your girls are well! I love your new photos on your blog!🙂

  3. Whirlwindsparkle November 15, 2012 at 5:03 pm #

    Yes, I really liked your Kitty “Speaks” one, Its a fun way to make people alert about Autism.

    • Kittymama November 19, 2012 at 10:55 am #

      Thanks, Emma!🙂

Leave a Reply

