BAD Kitty…

9 Nov

I’ve got to confess… I’ve been bad.

I’ve fallen off the Hello Kitty Rehab wagon.

Again.

Boohoo.

I thought I’ve made some decent strides in the last year. I have been very disciplined in curtailing my Hello Kitty obsession as I trimmed away the excess in my collection. I thought and re-thought and slept on major purchase decisions before finally committing to them. I also rechanneled my fixations into focused areas of collections. I had a well-thought strategic plan to keep my Hello Kitty desires in check, and for the most part, it was working rather well.

I don’t know, however, what happened in the last few weeks to unleash this monster in me again. It must be seasonal, the holiday season fever setting fire to my Kitty passions. Everything Kitty looks pretty and kawaii again. And don’t get me started on colors please! I am crazy over red and pink kitties!

If this were really seasonal- just a a touch of Kitty madness- then I know it will all be over soon and I will be back to my less aggressive schedule of retail therapy again. In the meantime, I need to stand in the corner and rue my actions (and mis-actions) of late.

I’ve been a BAD Kitty-(mama) indeed.

When I think back on this bizarre episode, I think it started the day I purchased this Susan Graver sweater on sale as replacement to the Izod hooded sweater I owned. Alex had taken to using my then brand new Izod sweater (it was unisex, anyway), and I needed my own for the rainy days and cooler nights we were having. This Susan Graver sweater was the last one in this particular size and color in the racks. I grabbed it, even if it was a little plain, because the color was the exact same shade as the one I lost to my son. and it needed to be the same color because A♥ had gotten us matching sweater sets (how sweet!).

And since I still had a lot of those Hello Kitty H&M iron-on patches, I thought to jazz it up a bit with my own style. Kitty-style, of course.

After that, it sort of spiralled down from there. First was this Rement x Hello Kitty Hokahoka Retro Diner box of 8 (you know, to go with my Sylvanian Families and miniature collections)

and next came this humongous Hello Kitty iPhone silicon cover A♥ got for me one weekend. Wheeeee!!!

It didn’t stop from there, though. I spent more for myself at the Toy Kingdom Warehouse sale than I did for my godchildren!

I got a wonderful magazine rack on sale, an insulated bag that will serve as my cross stitch bag for small projects, two stainless steel mugs, and a plush, lush, absolutely divine blanket! All Hello Kitty!

*Gasp* Will this madness never cease?

Now, this was the lowest point, if you may call it that. The other night, after dinner with some of A♥’s colleagues at work, I spotted this marshmallow treat at a candy store and pleaded and begged until I could have it! I know I couldn’t eat it (I am watching my blood sugar) but I was happy just to hold it and look at it. Now that I think about it, it does sound rather pathetic, hahaha.

I think Alphonse ate it last night, enjoying biting off Kitty’s head!

And then, yesterday, this arrived- what I waited for a month- this bee-yoo-tee-full Loungefly scarf/shawll! I never leave home without a wrap or a small throw inside my bag and this is perfect! See how it makes me look “mysterious and alluring” (my friend Sandee’s words, teehee)?

So yes, I’ve been naughty. Very naughty. I’ve bought when I shouldn’t have and I have no remorse.

But how can I ever hate Hello Kitty?

I don’t think I ever can say goodbye, even if I try. I can only hope to put this madness under control.

And I will, I promise.

Uhm…Yes, I do… But let me do it after I put my Hello Kitty false eyelashes on first.

Heehee.

2 Responses to “BAD Kitty…”

  1. Anonymous November 10, 2012 at 12:51 am #

    Where did you get your Re-ment kitties? Gawd, would love to have those!

    • Kittymama November 19, 2012 at 10:56 am #

      I buy them online or from friends who travel. A couple I bought in Hong Kong and Singapore.🙂

Leave a Reply

